You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: John Henry 2047 - An Original Short Story

in #story6 years ago

I like the play on the old John Henry mythology, as well as your use of narrative to weave between past and present in the story.

Sort:  

I was kinda relieved to see The End because John Henry drops dead after all his hammering, and I don't want to see "Johnny" Henry win the race, only to drop dead... you leave it up to the reader this way. I say Johnny wins - and lives long enough to enjoy many years of driving.
Driverless cars! I'm still in disbelief.
I grew up on a farm. Before computerized anything. Men and motors. Stick shifts, V-8 engines, wheelies, pedal to the metal, rubber burning on pavement, drag racing on the way to school in the morning, Big Dumb Trucks, cruising Main Street as a weekend activity - save driverless cars for big cities, or China, but America is all about the road, Get your kicks on Route 66, The Feel of the Wheel, the independence and freedom, the wide open spaces to travel. You've hit a sore spot, Chris, and you could reach millions with this one.

I really appreciate your response. :D

I agree about the ending. No need to kill my beloved character at the end; that would be heartbreaking, like the original. I wanted to leave some hope. I think humans will always win.

Another sad thing about the original story. John Henry was competing as part of a bet. If he won, his boss won the Steam engine as a prize. John hammered for himself because he was the best, but he was still being taken advantage of until his death. It was much sadder to read as a grownup.

Thanks, @dirge!

I was inspired by the story of John Henry when I was little. I feel like there's a real problem today with people not giving themselves enough credit. In the time of the tall tale, it was machines and hydraulic presses replacing people's usefulness. Now there's a machine version of pretty much everything that humans have ever been good at. Machines are surgeons, teachers, drivers, even writers and poets.

It's time for humans to step up and secure our place in the future! :D

Thanks for commenting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58617.29
ETH 3164.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44