One Of My Happy Places!!

in #story7 years ago

Yesterday was riddled with bad news for me but I am optimistic for today!! Whenever I am feeling down I try to go to one of my "happy places" even if it's only in my mind. One of those places is The Grand Canyon. I always wanted to go there, feeling almost drawn to it. I got my chance when my husband and I went to Vegas. We took a bus trip to the Hoover Dam and The Grand Canyon. We knew it was a long ride but we didn't know that, after that long ride, we would only be given, roughly, twenty to thirty minutes to actually get out, look around and take a few photos before having to return to the bus. The driver informed us that we had to be back at a certain time but usually there will be a couple of people that are late and will hold up the bus. We were told that if that should happen that he would take the other passengers to a nearby souvenir shop and double back around to pick up any stray tourists that were left behind. Well, as it turns out the only ones that missed the bus were me and my husband. It was so easy to lose sight of the time when you didn't have much to begin with and then you just get lost in the beauty that surrounds you. We took a bit of, good-natured, ribbing from some of the other passengers but I think they totally understood. It is more than just "a big hole in the ground", at least it was to me. It was quite awesome and we got to see pockets of thunderstorms over the Canyon. I hope to go back soon but this time we will rent a car so we can take our time and enjoy the beauty that nature gives us. For me, it was also a spiritual experience and it was good for my soul! Love and Light to All!

A photo from our trip...
vegaskeeper.png

Thank you for upvoting, following and resteeming!!

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 15 November 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

I'm one of those who think it is a big hole. Hehe been to Vegas often, but never ventured to that canyon. Maybe next time I'll go and take my drone. It will be in the end of December. It's good to have a happy place :) mine is my inner space 😄

LOL! I don't know why I always wanted to go there and Montana also. Maybe for all the big open spaces. I am a country girl at heart or maybe a "loner". I spend a lot of time in my inner space..unsure if that is a good thing or not but I think mostly good = )
I hope the weather cooperates with you and the drone even if you don't get to the Canyon, Vegas has some awesome sights (as you know).

Thanks, I hope the weather is doable. I hope to see better action at the holdem tables. Hehe, but visiting family is the no. 1 reason for going. Cheers

Hee Hee! There is always that! Are you there for the Holidays? Only been to Vegas twice so far but loved it both times. I saw Spamalot there...So funny!!

That would be cool. Ive seen the blue man group and love. Ide rather be grinding it at the tables. Hehe yeah for the holidays. I do like all the freaks on fremont st. Lol

I loved Fremont St but of course I love love love lights! It is quite the show! Hey, I got the Angelite in the mail today..Yay!

So super, Ide clear it and then charge it. Im assuming you know that already ;) yeah, a real freak show, which Im drawn to. If you havent seen my 2nd video of st. Johns then you'd understand. :)

Good reminder..thanks!! That's the one with your pretty girlfriend/wife? I really like that video! Except you didn't say how that spaghetti came out at least I think you said you were making spaghetti. Reminds me of Buffett concerts with those coconuts = )
I'm gonna smudge then put in the sun?

Beautiful view through the pines. I didn't like the short visits the buses gave us either. But the views, oh my I could have sat in one place all day. It was a very humbling experience to sit and enjoy the raw beauty. Great photo @deerjay

Thank you sunscape! I agree..so many views to try to take in, in such a little bit of time and I also found it humbling in a wonderful way.

Nice photo and hope things look up soon.

Thanks old-guy-photos! I am hopeful...keeping my chin up = )

Love and light to you too.. i am sorry you had a bad day but that view is amazing.. upvoted and resteemed!!!!! 😁😁😁

Thank you deadgrlsuppastar..you rock!!

You rock too!! 🤘🤘🤘🤘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50