The WindRoamer Tricycle (Re-Visited) ~ Unfortunately, It Did Not Work As To Plan ~ Original Photography and Short Discussion ~steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story7 years ago (edited)

EW1_0561 294kb.jpg

A Tricycle For The Big Kid In All Of Us


Somewhere around five months ago, I wrote an article discussing the process of putting my neighbor's tricycle together for her. [The WindRoamer Tricycle]

The intent at the time was for her to use the trike for getting around the paddock of her horse/donkey arena, which is a normal, daily activity for my friend. Due to life difficulties I will not go into here, she experiences some challenges physically moving around a large area like a horse arena, and this tricycle seemed to be a very good answer to the dilemma at hand.

A Bit Of Three-Wheeled History

I was called upon one afternoon to assemble the new tricycle, and I soon had it de-boxed, then wrenched, banged, cussed and assembled into tricycle shape. And once completed, it was obvious this was no ordinary, run of the mill, little-kid-messing- about-on-the-front-lawn tricycle. Even the name suggested grander possibilities. Definitely not the HobbleTrike III by Huffy, one sees abandoned in little-kid disgust on sidewalks and front yards all across Suburbia, USA.


The Completed, Brand-Spanking New WindRoamer Tricycle


The WindRoamer. Even the name suggests lofty, wind-in-the-hair, hugely adventurous outings, once the new owner is fully saddled and pedaling on into the sunset. Say, in the wilds of Sedona Arizona, the epic Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore of Michigan, or some other exotic destination of three-wheeled joy.

The WindRoamer. A beefy tricycle made for adults, that sports shock absorb-ers and knobby, air-filled tires. And a nifty, removable egg basket. Even a place for a trailer hitch. How cool is THAT?!.

Just right for bopping around, over and through the most difficult obstacles of the bumpy-ride variety. We were both very excited about the possibilities the trike offered for her daily donkey care, and the mobile, move-around-the-arena activities that it requires.


All Revved Up And Ready To Go


Singing The Front-Wheeled Conveyance Blues

At the time of my fist post about this tricycle, I promised I would give a heads up and progress report on how it all worked out in the end. And here we are today.

Jump ahead four and a half months from original post, and many a trial in the donkey and horse arena later. The muddy, messy, sloppy arena. The many trials and resulting tribulations of the WindRoamer in action.

I am crestfallen to report, that the tricycle did not work all that well in these conditions. I had such high hopes for success, as did my friend that owns the trike. I think there are a few problems that arose, that make it untenable as a muddy-area transport device. At least for her situation.

Unfortunately, simply by tricycle design, one has a hard time putting major weight over the front wheel when pedaling, thus making int harder to get enough traction in sloppy conditions. I did not get to witness the day-to-day action in the paddock, but from the sound of it, there just was not enough weight over the front 'drive' wheel to get things 'going' for an extended period of time. Particularly in such a muddy environment.

The tricycle had to be pushed at times, when it would not go where steered and intended. My friend does not generally ride a bike, and therefor does not have really strong pedaling legs, and this may also lead to the difficulties at hand.

I think a person that is practiced in pedaling a bicycle or trike longer distances might have an easier time of it. And if the tricycle was used on more dry and flat, hard-surface land, this thing would actually work pretty well. But a donkey paddock is not a hard, dry surface during our endless winter months of rain, and as such, we are plumb, tricycle-about-the-paddock out-of-luck.

(Yes, I did think of that. Use of this machine in the summer months should theoretically work. But the number of horses and donkeys drinking water in during the hot weather months, then expelling it out the south end, basically all over the place, all day long, seems to keep the area quite wet and boggy. Even in the pleasantly dry months of the year.)

Though not an official engineer, I am quite certain that if this tricycle had a chain drive mechanism, allowing for better weight distribution and front drive power, it would work quite well. (And if it had a motor, would work even BETTER!)



The WindRoamer Tricycle -- After Being Put Through The Horse-Pasture Paces

P1320478-1 294kb.jpg

The Proof...

P1320484-1 273kb.jpg

Is In...

P1320490-1 265kb.jpg

The Horse Puddin'



For Sale -- Windroamer 'Trycycle' -- Inquire Within

Now that I've told you the WindRoamer does not work as well as we both had hoped, I will turn right around and say, "It's for Sale...You can't afford NOT to buy it!!" Just joking of course, but that is the general plan.

The tricycle will go out on Craigslist, and we will see if she can sell it to someone who needs a trike for other, hard-ground-as-intended, flat-lander sort of uses. I'm pretty sure she will have little trouble selling it, as it is a cool, hip, three-wheeled machine.

The ad just needs to emphasize and point out the cosmic yellow color, those shock absorb-ers, inflatable knobbies, cool basket, and awesome trailer hitch. I'm sure it will then go faster than a WindRoamer down the face of Sleeping Bear Dune.

Can anyone say major, sand-packed-in-the-snout faceplant?

~ Finto ~


Day One: The Author, Test Driving The Tricycle -- "That's what I'm talking about!"


Thanks for stopping in and viewing the update on the Dirt King WindRoamer Tricycle. If you have any thoughts about adult tricycles, mudbugging on three wheels, donkey and horse paddocks, or anything else this post reminds you of, feel free to comment away in the spaces below. I'd love to hear from you.





Please UPVOTE, COMMENT and FOLLOW if you enjoy my works.

And go to @ddschteinn -- There's a whole lot more...

Sort:  

I'm so disappointed for your friend that it didn't work out. I had to laugh that it had a trailer hitch. Looks like it could be good for someone out there! Maybe a golf cart??

The golf cart is a good suggestion. And you are in good company on that one, as @old-guy-photos suggested the same. I'll pass it on. Thanks for the look and comment, I really appreciate it. Heading over to check out your blog. Have a nice day.

Thanks I appreciate the interest! My friend has a horse ranch and it's what they use to get around most of the time.

I wondered if it would work when I saw the peddles on the front wheel. To still solve the neighbors problem, maybe a 3 wheel bike with mountain bike tires?

That is a good idea. I'll pass it along. Though they would have to be fat, as it is very muddy. But that would be easier to pedal with a chain. The front wheel thing was the first thing I thought too when I saw it, and when I pedaled it out her drive. Have a nice day.

I think they make some that are pretty wide and also grippy too

A triciclo thus we need to where in currents dear friend, the streets are so broken that one has to add in an all-terrain, the ilistracion I charm very creative.
Excellent work as always dear friend @ ddschteinn
Have a great day

What a cool story but I'm so sad that it didn't work out as it was intended. I imagine those little wheels definitely got stuck quite often.

I think she got stuck a lot. And couldnt' ever get anywhere. Sad, as it was rather pricey too. But maybe we can come up with something else. Golf cart and 3-wheeler have been suggested. Hmm....

I've always wanted a mule - I don't have the property for one and I don't think I could go buzzing to the grocery store with it. LOL

You would be very well known in your town clip-clopping to the A&P on a mule. My friend has a Donkey, she loves her. Very smart, un-spookable, and gentle. And huge. I think you should get one anyway ( :

Yeah! I remember your old article of this tricycle! It's very nice one that I would love to buy, if I can afford it!

I especially like your drawing..... Very creative idea! Having hot coffee and drinking happily during riding....that'll be good!

I think you are a great engineer putting the tricycle together! It's good to see your photo again with her tricycle! And I do really hope to see you with your own bicycle in your future posts! ;D

Was awhile ago, you have a good memory. I can ship it to you, probably cost a bit, but who knows. I can just see you pedaling about your neighborhood ( :
Thanks, the drawing was fun. Sometimes I can't find anything for a picture, so time to get out the crayola's. Maybe someday I will put out a picture of me on a real bike. Though I AM on it with Mr. Chicken in the Steemit video they made awhile back. My only claim to 6 seconds of fame...

Really! I think I saw Mr. Chicken in the Steemit video a long time ago, but I didn't recognize that you were in the fame, too. Do you still have that video? I would love to see you in there! ;)

Yes, who knows, you may see me on that tricycle if you can really ship it to me! ;D

Your drawings are really great! Steem on! ;)

Thank you, glad you like my sort of drawing skills. They are fun to make.

The video is still out there somewhere on Steemit. Look up @winstonwolfe, as he put it together as a Steemit celebration. I'm sure I'm still on there, if however brief.

As for tricycles.. things do get shipped all over the globe every day. So I'm sure it is possible. That would be a first, @tangmo riding a WindRoamer all over Thailand taking pictures of various things of interest. You could get the trailer for it and put the Steemit logo on the side, and use it for gathering in all those delectable fruits and coconuts and things that you are always making into amazing desserts that keep me hungry 24-7. I think we're on to something here ( :

I will try to find out where the video is..... ;)

Good idea! Steemit will be well-known for Thai people from now on if I put the Steemit logo on the side of the tricycle and riding all over Thailand..... It would be a lot of fun, too! ;D

Sad but understandable. I have two ideas. One a golf cart. They are very popular here and if its not overly soft, would do well I think. There ae gas or electric models.
If it is a very soft, mushy surface a John Deere Gator might be in order. They can help a lot as a utility vehicle!

She was pretty bummed. Great ideas, I'll pass them along. I think the golf cart would be quieter, and therefor better for the horses. They seem to spook easy. The donkey's , you can do anything with them. They just look at you like "uh, yeah..."

I have a feeling this tricycle can get to mount Everest, given a high calorie breakfast :D

O: We're talking a passle-load of Powerbars.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51