Let's talk about ∞ The Great Gatsby ∞

in #story6 years ago (edited)

The Great Gatsby

no spoilers, ( I have morals)

Shalom! Before we start all the fun, I want to make it clear that my goal is to bring a community of book lovers in order to discuss and share our experiences with the written world. I am not going to make formal reviews for books, but to share my thoughts, opinion, tears (sometimes), etc, and of course to hear yours!

So let's start with a quote! And feel free to share in the comments a different quote.
I chose this one:

“I hope she'll be a fool -- that's the best thing a girl can be in this world, a beautiful little fool.”
― F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby

29213798_2326292997384562_5033917965465026560_n.jpg
(The photo was taken by me)

What is this book about?

The story takes place in a fictional town called West and East Egg next to NYC, in the year 1922. Btw, if you know a little about the American history, in that year alcohol was forbidden- which obviously meant everyone was consuming it. Haven't we learned anything about the human race yet? We want what we cannot have :)

So, this is a literary book full of metaphors and meanings, and I highly recommend to go through notes online (or if you are lucky like I was, analyzing in class) because personally, it helped a lot to realize how damn good this book is, and to have a deeper understanding about the themes.

This story follows very unique characters from different social backgrounds through their journey towards their American Dream. What's that? Huh, I think it's what we believe we need, and want, to achieve in our life in order to be happy. It could be money, a certain person (because of the idea of him/her we created in our minds), higher social class, etc.

And what do you think each of our characters faced at the end of their journey? Go read to find out :)
And buy a box of tissues on the way.

My little writing piece

I remember the first time I finished this book, before all the endless analyzing and (very passionate) discussions in class, when I was too shy to admit that I just stared at the book and thought,

"what's the big deal? I don't get it... did the writer actually meant that? Maybe the green lights are just damn lights, yellow is nothing but a color and a flower, is really, not a... why we think everything is gotta be a goddamn metaphor!"

Then it hit me.

🌼 Because the meaning always lies in the unsaid, in the thin gaps between the lines. This is what opens our mind and keeps changing us, it comes unnoticed until we can recognize it everywhere, because we simply look for it. That's what I love about writing; I didn't notice so much, and probably I am still missing everything there is to miss, but always a bit less every time. And still I wonder how many times we miss to see the unnoticed in the people around us, what they say (and what they don't), just like in those characters of a world not so big than any of us. 🌼

Have you read this book? Share your thoughts on the subject :)

Sort:  

You're amazing, Daniel. I didn't read this book, and as a matter of a fact, I don't think I ever read in English. Maybe I should try.

Thank you☺️♥️ You should!! I recommend you to start with The Little Prince

I sure will

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59026.89
ETH 2655.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50