Just let it go!

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Recently, I have been falling sick and using diverse sorts of medications; from one ailment to another and it seemed like I was in a loop that can only breaks forth into death-or except there is a miracle. I already knew the names of fifty drugs, their mode and mechanism of action and many other pharmacological attributes within the past three months.

At a point of visiting doctors in my locality, a friend of mine said I should get myself examined by the doctors in the state hospital, they seem to have more professionals and experienced doctor- finding the real fault in me would be a piece of cake. I reasoned with her and decided to take some days off campus to get myself well treated. Even though preparations for exams at this point are at its peak, but I am not ready to lose myself. Like the Yoruba says “The lifespan of a person is shorter than that of work“ or should I reverse that “The lifespan of work is far longer than an individual’s life”.

I got to the hospital and like I expected, the doctors attended to me and engaged me in series medical tests. With the little money a student like me could afford, I paid. But with the more tests I do, the more I engage in. Doctors are nothing without their tests.

After spending an amount as much as an estimate of my yearly allowance, I surrendered. Not because there was no money to fund my treatment. The sickness was already making me wish to die. No real treatment has begun on me and I am missing a lot in school. Exams were in three weeks and I had a lot to cover up if I must not have a spill over.

All these thought on my bed amplified my symptoms. My friends used to visit me almost every day since I had been admitted but they weren’t coming or calling as usual. I understand, they were preparing for the forth coming papers and also, people get to limits of how much they can dispense.

My parent called everyday and always did pray for me. They’ve visited me thrice and had made suggestions I get transferred to an hospital close to home; I should have heeded but I learnt that the hospital close to home reefer their critical cases to the hospital in which I’m already at.

In the hospital, I witnessed a lot of things very gross and pathetic. People died in my presence. Imagine this scenario of me chatting with the patient next to my bed and we laughing and having a good time, we slept and by the next day, I see another patient sleeping on that same bed. On inquiring about the whereabouts of my new found friend, they tell me he died during the hours of the night. This didn’t just happened once, they repeated themselves so much I got adapted to it. I cried my face out but yet I wondered what could be so wrong with me.

Then one evening as I was sleeping, someone tapped me. They were the hospital preachers. I already witnessed much of them but I guess God was ready for me that same hour. I seated upright to for the first time listen to them. I believe in God but I am not that a person you’d label as religious. Then this beautiful dark skinned lady began to talk to me on a personal level. Not with religious vocabularies that I was accustomed to but more like we were really communicating as friends.

She asked me of my ailment and I said I didn’t know. She said she guess it has to do with my kidney since majority of the patients in my wards were having a common kidney problem. She introduced me to the knowledge of divine healing and told me stories of how much it had helped her. She said a few years ago, maybe five or more, her mother was in a labor room. Within thirty minutes, the doctor came to announce that she was delivered of a set of twins which the scan never revealed. He also announced her death.

Shocked, she fell to the ground and cried as her father consoled her. She didn’t know what to do. She had a previous knowledge that all girls whose mother died lived miserable lives. But she summoned courage based on the passage she read a night before in the scripture. She asked the doctor to allow her see her mother before being transferred to the mortuary, alone.

The doctor hesitated but with the father’s endorsement, she was granted her wish which was to initiate her new found ministry. She went in holding her mother’s hand in tears. And she said “Mother, I believe you can hear me. I recognize that you are not dead but trapped deep inside there. I believe the word of God which says with faith we can move mountains. Here lays before us a mountain trying to cause our separate. But I say to you to come forth! I want you to resurrect!!” Seeing nothing happened, she ran out with tears.

On coming out, her father had already signed all necessary hospital bills and paper. He didn’t want to see his wife’s body so they left. But within an hour journey home, he received a call from the hospital. The call was to make known of the woman’s resurrection. It happened that as they were to transfer the woman from the labor room, she sneezed back to life.

On hearing this lady story, I replied her “My condition has not yet reached death” So I still have hope. She prayed with me and gave me some tracts to read. Now I believe in divine healing. That night, I sat up for the first time in my sickness to read the bible. I read her tracts and I got to know that I had to let some things go. Fear was the first thing. I was afraid of failure, afraid of exams, afraid for my future and afraid of death. I had to let it go.

Next was anger and bitterness. I read from her tracts that they were like shackles sponsoring self bondage. I began to forgive people of their trespasses. Of what use will these things be when I am dead. That night, not minding the time I began to call people to tell them I had forgiven them. Those I intentionally offended, I also called for reconciliation. It turned out I spent the whole night and early morning talking and making new friends. We spoke for hours and my views about them began to transform- long term memories can be altered by new experiences.

By the next morning, I took my phone and began to watch funny comedies and do the things I used to do as a hobby before gaining admission. Turned out I am still as talented as I were in my secondary school days. I was having my life back. I received a call later from the gospel girl and she prayed for me. I narrated my experience during the night of how I had fun speaking to my enemies-turned-friends. She was happy for me and promised to visit later during the day.

I prayed afterwards, read my tracts and next on the lift was to let go of faithlessness. I had to believe in my healing. So intriguing was that the tract talked exhaustively about placebo and nocebo effects. I should believe I am healed and I would be. I began to do as I read and gradually, my pains began to submerge. I prayed almost every hour, read my bible and occasionally have visits from the gospel girl. I was about to get a new girl friend.


After this lady goes round preaching, she comes back to my bed and we talk and laugh for a few hours before departing. We began to fall in love and in many ways, it catalyzed my healing. It was like I was already living the life.

My friends and parent began to visit me frequently again. They were so delighted to see I am getting well and were all eager to see this gospel girl I talked so much about. It was obvious that I had fallen in love and she confessed this to my face some times.

A day before the exams, my friends called to give some interesting updates in school- I was told that It was indefinitely postponed. Some notorious cultists had a clash with each other. This resulted in some lives being lost and damage of school properties. The media people have being parading the school trying to see something they can write about. I was happy, not for the bad occurrences but that I would have enough time to prepare for my papers. They were my last and a flop in them would distort the gp I had being nurturing since I gained admission.

I was discharged three days later to go home, yet not finding anything wrong with me. Some of the doctors were amazed of my sudden regain of health. Some test were run on me and they discovered I was getting better. I spoke with one of the students doctor and It turned out my blood pressure, PVC and the rest were now at a normal level. I inquired if he knew anything wrong with me. He said he could not say but he suspected a viral infection or luekemia. It didn't really matter anymore what was actually wrong- I am now fine is all that matters.

One doesn't recognize the peace he has in health. Pain that make one crave death exist and is a common delight shared among hospital patients. I was so baffled of how praying and letting go could free your health from bondage. Not only was it beneficial to my health but my social life changed and I got a new love.

As I was discharged, my parent were there to take me home. I cried seeing that I could still be alive to see the interior of my home. My younger ones were so happy to see me. They cried telling me of how worried they were to see. They never ceased to pray for me. I told them of my encounter in the hospital and this new gospel girl.

I began to attend church, pray and read my bible. I read my books in preparation of the exams also. Within two weeks, I went back to school. The exams date were now fixed for two weeks ahead. The timetable really favored me. My friends were delighted to see me they almost crushed me on my arrival.

Soon, I discovered my gospel girl and I attend the same university. I saw her one afternoon after a stressful pre-exams tutorial at the school's main gate. We were surprised to see each other and wonder why we never talked about where we study in our conversations. That day, I got to know her dorm and meet her friends. She is an art major student and a president of her campus fellowship. Inside of her house were lots of tracts and bibles and charity goods. She tends to receive lots of congratulatory letters and cards from people who have benefited from her ministry.

I asked to join her in ministering to hospital, i now have my own testimony. She didn't opted, she agreed right away and happy I wanted to be part of the project. "There are many sick people to see" she said "And we've been praying for more laborers". We talked into the night on various topics and also prayed.

We began dating and things changed for the better. And yeah, I came out with good grades in my exams!

Thank You!!!

Declaimer:

Strory written by @damzxyno.
Image source: Pexels.com
1,
2

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Damzxyno from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @damzxyno! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62795.57
ETH 2581.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74