Planning to Join Hackerspace Brussels - Helping Them Crowdfund a New BuildingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #story6 years ago

800px-Norbertgothisbrainmachine.png
Source


A friend of mine recently posted a public message on Facebook, stating that they were still looking for people to help fund rent for a new building for the Brussels Hackerspace. I had been there before, but I've never actually been a member there.

I thought it would be a great idea to help them with the funding and become a member. I regularly see them post cool projects, so I think it's a great idea for me to join them. I might learn a bit about programming and 3D printing, which is something I've been meaning to learn about for a very long time.

For now, I'm supporting them around €40 per month, paid with some of my Steemit and Bitcointalk earnings. Ideally I'd like to set up an additional Steemit account for the hackerspace, but I haven't gone over that yet.

I know from past visits that they're working on many different hardware projects as well. For example, their bar is almost fully automated. You can basically order drinks and scan a barcode to pay automatically.

Other than that, I'm pretty sure that I once saw them post about an open-source cocktail-mixing project, called GNÜWhine. I'm very interested in that project ;-)

Here's a video where you can see the previous building, while they're testing out a programmable light setup.



Hackerspace Brussels Github


I'm planning on spending some more time there, so I have some more interesting content to share. If it's possible, I might introduce some of the members to Steemit or perhaps give a talk about Steemit, whenever they're hosting an event.

Stay tuned for more updates!


Sort:  

That is really cool! So is it kind of like a maker space? I am guessing it is really similar just different terms because of the different languages. It would be cool if we had something like this around where I live. There are some pretty bright and intelligent people because of the businesses in our area that would probably be really into a community group like this. I wish them luck with their initiative.

Yeah it's pretty much the same as a maker space. I think the term hacker space is more used here in Europe. We have at least 3 of these spaces in our country that I know of. Yeah it's really fun I think, though I'm not completely sure yet what kind of project I'll be getting myself involved with :)

Very cool. We have some 3D printers here at the school, but I haven't really ever messed with them too much. I pretty much just let the teacher and students handle everything with it. I just ordered some raspberry pi's today, so I am kind of excited about playing around with those and seeing what they have to offer.

Sounds like they have some real cool initiatives going on

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @daan!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.704 which ranks you at #5081 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 104 places in the last three days (old rank 5185).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 219 contributions, your post is ranked at #123.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 314 (11/16/18)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50