From the Philippines to America /// Our Love StorysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #story7 years ago (edited)

My wife and I do have a story to tell. We are one of those couples that met online back in 2006. I remember signing up to a social media web site for a free 1 week trial (from Texas). Little did I know that I would meet a girl that also happened to sign up for a 1 week trial in the Philippines. As I was scanning profiles I came to Kathlyn's site. She was BEAUTIFUL. I sent her a "interested post" and left it at that. To my surprise she sent me a interested post back. Thus began our long term relationship.

Over the months we talked little. I was thinking to myself that this could never work out because she lived so far away. I had no idea that Kathlyn, when she saw my picture and profile that first day, said to herself "this is the man I'm going to marry". During the spring of 2008 I was online one day (working overseas in Israel) and saw that Kathlyn was also online (we switched yahoo messenger addresses months earlier). I said hello and she said hello back. Thus began our REAL online relationship. We began chatting everyday, relentlessly. We would chat for hours and hours. We began officially going out in June of 2008. We were a couple. A couple that had never met face to face.

I then began calling Kathlyn on the phone. We would talk for hours that first couple of months. That is until I received a phone bill for $2,400 DOLLARS. The next month I received another bill for $800 DOLLARS. OUCH! I then found that telephone cards were much much cheaper. A very expensive lesson learned.

It wasn't until Christmas of 2008 that we finally met face to face. I was flying to see her for Christmas and New Years. I'll never forget packing an engagement ring to take on the long overseas trip to the Philippines. My Father had purchased it for me and sent it to me from Texas. So this ring went from Texas, to Israel, and to the Philippines. A very special ring. After a long layover in Bangkok, Thailand, I boarded the plane with excitement.

The flight seemed to last for an eternity. Finally I arrived to the Manila Airport. Before going through customs I saw a bathroom, so I quickly went inside for a change of clothes and to wash up. After customs I was walking out the exit of the terminal and looking at so many people on the other side of the glass. As I made my way out the door there was Kathlyn. She had a huge smile on her face. We embraced each other there in the enormous crowd of people and gently kissed one another on the lips. Its the KISS I will never forget. She then tied a bracelet on my wrist that she had made. The Bracelet said "T and K" (The first letters of both of our names together). I Love you Kathlyn -

Written by me @crowe on Steemit
(All photos were taken by me, @crowe on Steemit)

Sort:  

Nice looking couple and touchy love story.
May God bless both of you with happiness and great life.

Thanks. I appreciate that.

It's truly incredible the connections that can be made through chance encounters on the internet. I've seen countless examples of people I know meeting the love of their life through an internet forum.

A while back I introduced a few people to irradiated message board I used to post on. One of them ended up moving to Portland in marrying a girl from the board, while the other one ended up moving to Brazil and married another girl from the board!

thank you for sharing your story :-)

I totally agree. Thanks for the reply. Our encounter really was amazing. Have a great day.

Omgsh, that’s a beautiful story. When is the wedding date? Will you move or will she?

The wedding was in November of 2009. Just living some wonderful memories. Thanks for checking out our story. Have a great day.

A very nice story. How are things going these days? Will you have more on this? I also wrote a story of meeting my Filipina wife and I am from Texas also. I've never been to Israel though. My post on it is rather long, but you can read it on my blog if you'd like: https://steemit.com/philippines/@johnwjr7/meeting-and-marrying-my-wife

I'll have to write more on this. I have posted lots of posts showing our children and some of our life we have had together. Have a good one.

Wow..that is a fantastic love story; goes to show that love knows no borders. You, her and your lovely daughters make a beautiful family. You are truly blessed @crowe.

Thanks @practicaleric. I appreciate it. How have you been doing? One of the faithful supporters and much appreciated.

U are welcome,Am doing great :)

Congratulations on your love story. I hope you now like lumpia, pansit, dinuguan and balut. :)

Thank you very much. Have a great day.

Your post is very nice

Thanks @mdarifk10 . Have a good day -

I have read your story. I love you and your wife story very much. Thank you for sharing with us @crowe

Very Welcome. Have a great day.

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Thanks for your support silvergoldbotty. Have a great day. Cheers.

Thank you for sharing your lovestory! There can never be enough of them! :) all the best to you and your wife!

Thanks. I hear you. I can't get enough of these kind of stories either. Have a good one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63501.83
ETH 2650.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81