The Weed That Ate Escondido - Now In 3D!

in #story7 years ago (edited)

"Sweet flowers are slow and weeds make haste."
- William Shakespeare -

When I was in college,

Hudson Taylor Armoring II, the son of the college president, put on a free concert for the students.

My favorite song in the set presented that evening is a hysterically funny piece called "The Eggplant That Ate Chicago."

When I saw this stump,

that's the song I thought of.

May I suggest that you start it playing, and enjoy listening while you look over the rest of my article?

Eucalyptus trees are weeds.

If you don't believe me, just follow this link or Google "are eucalyptus trees weeds?"

Smack dab in the middle of Grape Day Park, Escondido, is one freaking monster eucalyptus stump.

The Weed That Ate Escondido

The Weed That Ate Escondido - Original Image by @creatr

While I was there appreciating this monster, I also took some 3D/Stereo pair images for you to enjoy.

You can view the images below in Three Dimensions (3D).

How can you do that?

If you aren't already familiar with Parallel and Cross-Eyed 3D viewing, please read and try this excellent tutorial:

"HOW TO VIEW 3D WITHOUT GLASSES"

You can view "The Weed That Ate Escondido" with either method. The image pair on the left works with the Parallel method, and the image pair on the right works with the Cross-Eye or Mirror method.

@creatr @creatr @creatr
The Weed That Ate Escondido - Now, in 3D! - Original Images by @creatr

I didn't have a tape measure,

but I would estimate that "The Weed" is about 12 feet in diameter at its base.

The Weed That Ate Escondido

The Weed That Ate Escondido - Original Image by @creatr

I shot a few close-ups.

The monster is quite gnarly, and has seen a lot of wear over the years.

The Weed That Ate Escondido

The Weed That Ate Escondido - Original Image by @creatr

One freakin' big, tough weed.

I don't know if they left it here for kids to climb on, or if it's just too big and expensive to remove completely!

The Weed That Ate Escondido

The Weed That Ate Escondido - Original Image by @creatr

I've been stumped before,

but this stump takes the cake.

I'm surprised it hasn't started sprouting out again, as most eucalyptus trees do when you trim them.

The Weed That Ate Escondido

The Weed That Ate Escondido - Original Image by @creatr

View from another side.

The Weed That Ate Escondido

The Weed That Ate Escondido - Original Image by @creatr

If you're ever in Escondido,

be sure to stop by Grape Day Park and pay your respects.


~FIN~


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
>>CLICK HERE!<<


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

That is one huge stump! Very original, indeed!
@creatr

I like that song! Very impressive stump!

Thanks! ;)

I find the song great fun! :D

i like weed lool
Beautiful post Bro

Thanks. ;)

I am an amateur of cannabis and your image is very impressive. I imagine how this tree should be to weed in his lifetime! I'll follow your blog. Beautiful discovery thank you

You're welcome, and thanks for commenting...

That's really neat. i like that there is a kid's park nearby. That would be a great place to play for a kid with a great imagination.

Yes, even for big kids like me! I'm always imagining things... :D

I don't suppose a weed whipper will stand much of a chance!

Hahahaha! It would take one heck of a weed-whacker to deal with this baby! ;)

Great post. Thank you.

It is absolutely Gorgeous! Yes, I agree, they left it for kids to play on, it looks 100x more fun than that other playground equipment, my sons would be all over that. I love nature so much, thank you for showing this rare beauty. I almost can't wrap my head around how huge of a tree that was....WOw......

I wish I could recall what it looked like before they gave it the haircut... ;)

Awesome 3D images of that monstrous stump @creatr! I should really stop relying so much on my iPhone camera and explore 3D imaging. And pretty catchy song too - I might play it in the background the next time I make some eggplant for dinner ;)

You can take 3D images with your iPhone... I took these with my Android.

I'll post a "How-To" one of these days.... ;)

Far out! I look forward to it, thanks amigo!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59758.56
ETH 2523.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47