Science Fiction Book Review: "Lord Valentine's Castle" by Robert Silverberg

in #story7 years ago (edited)

"Science fiction, outside of poetry, is the only literary field which has no limits, no parameters whatsoever."
- Theodore Sturgeon -

I just finished reading "Lord Valentine's Castle" for the first time.

I've been aware of the book since it was first published more than thirty-five years ago.

Table of Contents

An enormous castle on an impossibly high peak...
Image courtesy of Stefan Keller and http://pixabay.com

Why, then, haven't I read it until now?

Table of Contents
Snapshot of a dog-eared cover...
Original photo by @creatr

Sometimes I am just slow, I guess.

Recently, I was jonesing for my "drug of choice" (i.e. a good Sci-Fi novel), and found a dog-eared paperback copy of the book that I'd picked up at a library sale.

In short?

I'm really glad that I did.

While I usually prefer "hard" science fiction, I found this hybrid "science-fantasy" novel to be very entertaining. Perhaps if I tell you why, you may wish to pick up a copy yourself.

Majipoor is a huge planet.

Its aboriginal population of shapeshifters is resentful of later settlers from other stars. Humans have been governing the planet and its widely varied races of interstellar colonists for some fourteen thousand years.

While there is much technology in use that appears highly advanced to us on present day earth — gravity and climate control for example — all knowledge of how to create it seems to have been lost in antiquity.

Table of Contents
A much clearer cover image.
Image via Wikimedia and presented here as fair use.

The overall feeling is medieval.

Valentine, a very pleasant and engaging fellow, seems to be suffering from amnesia. He falls in with an itinerant troop of jugglers, quickly picking up their skills.

The troop is comprised of a half dozen four-armed Skandars, but by law needs a human minority. With nothing else to do, Valentine makes up the deficit of humans, and begins touring with them.

Along the way,

little hints and clues reveal that Valentine has a background far more auspicious than he may think.

As the story progresses, one by one, his traveling companions come to recognize Valentine for who he really is.

The castle itself plays a part only late in the story.

Most of the action involves Lord Valentine gradually recovering the knowledge of his true identity and calling. He also engages in much introspection and consideration of the pros and cons of seeking to recover his former station as Coronal (i.e. King).

This astute comment by Valentine caught my eye:

Table of Contents
A watercolor painting of a castle.
Included here simply for its beauty.
Image courtesy of Oberholster Venita

"Let him be Coronal who wants to be Coronal. I think power is a sickness and governing is a folly for madmen."

In his questing along the way, Valentine travels by land and by sea. He works his way through a hierarchical system, seeking access to his mother, "Lady of the Isle of Sleep."

I think "The Lady's" comment on fallen human government is immensely insightful:

"Cruel and foolish laws are proclaimed daily. The innocent are punished, the guilty flourish."

All in all, I found Valentine the Juggler to be a delightful and admirable character. He interacts intelligently and compassionately with the characters he is surrounded by. His adventures in his quest to recover his destiny make for a very engaging story.

Table of Contents

High Atop Castle Mount.
Image courtesy of Cari R. and http://pixabay.com

I'm looking forward to sampling the next of the many books in the series.

The first three were released in close proximity in the early 1980's:

I really don't know what to expect, and I may or may not read all of them, depending on my impression of the "Chronicles."

What do you think?

Have you read Lord Valentine's Castle? Have you read any of the others in the series?

I can at least recommend the first novel as quite enjoyable.

Table of Contents

Science Fiction: My Literary "Drug of Choice."
Image courtesy of Reimund Bertrams and http://pixabay.com


~FIN~

LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
>>CLICK HERE!<<


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

Sound like an interesting mix as far as the genre and world goes. Sounds like something I might actually enjoy based on your review. I might check for an audio version as I tend to find little time for dedicated reading while I listen to tons of stuff while walking the dog, driving, shopping and running errands.

It's a pretty long novel - 500+ pages... But who knows? There may be an audio version somewhere... Good luck!

There is indeed an audio version on audible. I'm considering signing up anyway due to my preference for audio.

Sounds like a great read. Nice summary.

Thanks! :)

I've read the first novel but second is a bit boring - could not finish.

Thanks for the heads up. I'll probably give it a go anyway...

It is good to read! Good summary!

I'm curious about the world-building as it's a fusion of futuristic and medieval. Does it do the info dump approach? I tend to skip a chunky paragraph and thereby miss some details.

No info-dump. The background of history and high-tech is just organically weaved into the story. You pick up the "science" history in little bits and pieces. In this book, although mentioned, you never visit an interstellar spaceport.

I'll try to find the book. It's usually hard to find old ones here. Up until now, I still haven't found the third installment of Frozen Fire by James Houston. It's something I read as a kid so I wanted to get all 3. Almost 2 decades later, still nothing lol.

Do you have a Kindle or Kindle app for your computer?

The Amazon link is right near the top of the article... ;)

Never tried it as I'm usually reading from a physical copy. I find that when I'm on something electronic, I get distracted from reading. Will have to give it a try :)

I have not read this book, but now I'm intrigued! Great review you've written here. I like to think that people who read this book 35 years ago and you reading it today all had the same visions through their heads - pretty neat!

Cool!

If you do pick it up, you'll have to tell me your visions from reading it.

As for me, I've been imagining interplanetary and interstellar travel ever since I was in first or second grade... ;)

Thanks for your visit! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64071.08
ETH 2763.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66