Science Fiction Book Review: Gateway by Frederik Pohl

in #story7 years ago (edited)

"Science fiction, outside of poetry, is the only literary field which has no limits, no parameters whatsoever."
- Theodore Sturgeon -

I recently re-read Gateway, an old favorite.

Why would you want to read "Gateway?"

Table of Contents

The Heechee are mysterious.
Image courtesy of Reimund Bertrams and http://pixabay.com

The Heechee are a mysterious, vanished alien race.

Table of Contents
A Heechee lander touches down.
Image courtesy of Andy and http://pixabay.com

Humanity is shocked and amazed to find remnants of Heechee technology abandoned in our solar system. Many of the artifacts are still functional even after an estimated half-million years.

The first major find is a spaceship,

buried in a tunnel on Venus. The adventurer who found it accidentally activated it, causing it to fly to Gateway. Gateway is an asteroid that has been converted into a space station by the Heechee. They placed in an orbit around the Sun, perpendicular to the plane of the ecliptic.

Hundreds of Heechee spaceships are docked at Gateway, most of them still functional after 500,000 years. Gateway Inc., a multinational corporation, has been established to oversee exploration by the use of these ships.

Table of Contents
Every flight is a gamble.
Image courtesy of Reimund Bertrams and http://pixabay.com

Depending on the size of the ship,

prospectors go out alone, or in groups of three or five, seeking other abandoned Heechee technology. If they succeed, Gateway Corporation rewards the prospectors with bounties and royalties on future technology development.

Robinette Broadhead is one such prospector.

He has escaped a menial job in the food mines on earth, having won enough in a lottery to pay for passage to Gateway.

His fears and failures are real, and progressively revealed as we read of his sessions with an artificially intelligent shrink. We also ride along as he goes on several missions. All in all, his adventures make for a very engaging story.

Table of Contents

Destination, unknown.
Image courtesy of Reimund Bertrams and http://pixabay.com

Since first reading Gateway decades ago,

I have been intrigued by what I consider a remarkable plot device.

Each Heechee ship is pre-programmed with a destination. Prospectors are only able to start the ship on its way, and must then hope for the best.

Once started, ships head for an unknown location. Many never return. Space for provisions is limited. Prospectors gamble with their lives on each flight. Air and other essentials may not last the round trip.

I've often thought this scenario would make an outstanding basis for an adventure game.

There are other books in the series:

Like most series, the subsequent books have their good and bad points. I've so enjoyed re-reading Gateway that I hope to re-read them all. I suggest you at least try Gateway. Then see if you have the stomach for more adventure.

Table of Contents

The Blue Event Horizon?
Image courtesy of Jakob and http://pixabay.com


~FIN~


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
>>CLICK HERE!<<


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

Outstanding review! I'll check it out.

Thanks! I don't think you'll be disappointed.

👍☺

I seem to remember the Blue event horizon title, must reread all these classics, Thank You for the reminder!

You're welcome. I've found that they stand up pretty well to re-reading. ;)

Not my thing but can see you really enjoyed them :)

@creatr
Great
I'm not fan of this kind of story normalely , but it really make me want to discover it !
Thank's for sharing ;)
Upvote and follow you , to see the next review ;)
Peace
@geemo-from-paris

Thank you, friend. I'm sure you'll enjoy reading Gateway. ;)

this premiss is as appealing to me as a one-way trip to Mars -and don't say you'd be all in for that - there's a limit to adventuring

Despite your prohibition... Were I once again single, I would take that ride...

Are you familiar with Mars One? ;)

I want to go spelunking in the Martian lava tube caverns... I want to discover what God has hidden there.

you will, creatr, after the Lord returns and we all fly away :)

Yes, I will... Thanks for the encouraging reminder! ;)

Sounds like a great novel with a very captivating plot. This series have the potential to be turned into a movie.

I do think it would make a great movie.

Love this book. I enjoy reading. Followed and upvoted. Do follow me @bindu

:\ - Sorry, I don't trade votes and follows. I vote for what I like, and follow what interests me, and I would encourage you to be a "Good Steemit Citizen" and do the same.

I'm currently reading We Are Legion and it's much more sci-fi than I really ever have read before! But this makes me want to give this book a shot! I'll pick it up next!

I hadn't heard of We Are Legion, but it sounds interesting, Thanks!

Gateway is a fascinating read... I hope you enjoy it!

I grew up on this stuff. Not a household name to the general reader, but this guy could tell a story and take you away for hours!

Science Fiction is great fodder to grow up on! Happy for you!

And, thanks for checking in. I appreciate your visit and comments. Yes, Pohl could spin a great yarn.

Love this book - blew me away when I read it :-) The others that followed never got to this fresh energy though. Check out Hyperion or Ian M Banks too amigo. @waykiwayki

Thank you, I will... :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05