Red Tide at NightsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Have you ever surfed at night? In the Red Tide?

My story is true. Come with me on an unusual adventure...

Red Tide At Night

Photo courtesy of Tradd Harter and http://unsplash.com

It's a little spooky,

standing in the dark just north of Scripps Pier at night. Water drips from a culvert and trickles across the sand. I wait impatiently for my companions. Where are they?

At last, two shadowy figures appear. Mary and friend have shown up after all!

It's a beautifully warm summer night. Looking seaward, as each wave breaks, it becomes a luminous cloud of green light. The whitewater is alive - literally - with the phosphorescent plankton known as the Red Tide.

Midsummer; the ocean water is quite warm and comfortable, but I am glad nevertheless to be in my wetsuit. Walking through wet sand at the water's edge, we leave behind glowing footprints. Though no longer at the peak of a few days ago, the Red Tide still shows plenty of luminous activity.

Each step produces a flash of light.

Striding into the water, each step produces a flash of light. Now up to my waist, I swing an arm back and forth underwater and stare in amazement. My whole hand and arm are illuminated, outlined by a flowing sheath of green light. I feel like a comic book character!

Looking to one side, I see my companions outlined in light as they stroke toward the horizon. The phosphorescent glow of millions of tiny plankton light up arms and faces as we approach the strike zone.

Duck-dive or turtle, it matters not - though closed under water, the blue-green glow pierces my eyelids. Just a few more strokes and I have arrived. It's time to ride.

The wave closes out in an almost blinding flash of photonic madness.

I spot a wave by some combination of its shadow against the sky and traces of reflected light from on shore. Quickly accelerating, I stand to glide down the face, leaving a bright green slash behind. I cut left and race ahead of the shoulder, chased by surging, glowing foam. Sheer de-light! The wave closes out in an almost blinding flash of photonic madness.

Red Tide At Night

Photo courtesy of Taylor Nicole and http://unsplash.com

Between waves we sit astride our boards and talk, feet dangling in the water. Tiny brilliant specks illuminate our wetsuits like stars against a black sky. What infinitesimal percentage of humanity has ever shared such an incredibly beautiful evening? We are undoubtedly the privileged few.

God is indeed imaginative...

I paddle north a ways to catch some more rides alone, enjoying the beauty of the night, the stars, the shining microorganisms, and the solitude. God is indeed imaginative beyond compare as anyone with eyes open can readily see.

Next time you hear there’s a Red Tide - don’t miss it! That foamy, glowing bearded grin you see streaking across the luminescent face of the next wave may just be me!


More surfing posts:
It's Here! Come Ride My Beautiful Magic Carpet
The First Wave
Eternity: A Mind-Numbingly Powerful Perspective
Making The Drop (A Poem of Sorts)
The Ocean; God's Finest Invention?
Paddling Out -- The Story
Colorful Art from a Personal Perspective; Introducing "Paddling Out"
The Humorous Truth; Willpower and Cold Water
Why Do Jerks Seem To Get the Best Waves?



Do you like to surf? Did you enjoy this post?

Follow me, I'm creatr

Sort:  

That sounds incredible! You explained it beautifully; keep up the excellent writing.

I'm glad you enjoyed the story! ;) Thanks for the encouragement!

Thanks for all the up votes...

Surfing at night in the Red Tide is truly an amazing experience. I wish you all could experience it for yourselves! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.11
ETH 2756.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66