More from the San Diego Maker Faire

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Maker Faire: A good candidate for "The Greatest Show on Earth."

On October 7th and 8th, 2017, we exhibited at the San Diego Maker Faire in Balboa Park.


"To invent, you need a good imagination and a pile of junk."
– Thomas Edison –


We were of course only one of many exhibits.

Because my "booth babe" was kind enough to go with me one of the days, I was able to check out a few other exhibits.

What's this, a computer on breadboards?

Built entirely with TTL logic, this 8-bit computer has only five instructions.

Table of Contents

Breadboard Computer by http://wolfdenelectronics.com/
Original Image by @creatr

The instructions are encoded in four bits,

and the storage is addressed by the remaining four. Cool!

Not a whole lot more than a Turing machine, but impressive in its own way. You can read about it at http://wolfdenelectronics.com under the "Projects" tab.

Table of Contents

I really liked this Steampunk Airship.
Original Image by @creatr

I really liked this model airship.

Built in a "Steampunk" style, most of its parts were cut out with a Muse laser cutter.

I'm rather fond of Steampunk styling. I find it interesting and entertaining.

Perhaps we should begin a "Steempunk" group here on Steemit?

Table of Contents

The "Muse" Laser Cutter.
Original Image by @creatr

This is the "Muse" laser cutter.

It is the machine used to create most of the components in the Steampunk airship.

It was also used to create the lovely miniature ferris wheel below. You can visit the Full Spectrum Laser website here.

Table of Contents

Laser-Cut Ferris Wheel
Original Image by @creatr

The ferris wheel was cut from sheets of very thin plywood.

Parts is parts.

I was able to see some laser-cut parts, visible through the plexiglass lid of a prototype laser printer. I think these are cardboard parts for kid-built "battle-bots."

Table of Contents

Peeking at some laser-cut parts...
Original Image by @creatr

Maker Faire is a great place for kids.

I find it exciting to see young people excited about making and doing creative things. If you can find an upcoming Maker Faire anywhere near your neighborhood, go for it and take your kids and grandkids. You won't be sorry.

Stay tuned,

I'll be sharing more photos and stories from the Faire in upcoming articles.


~FIN~


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

Sounds like a place where all can learn from each other. Thanks.

That's a fact, Jack! ;)

Looks a great place for kids and for the child inside me! ^_^ I love that Steampunk Airship, really beautiful!

Yes!
And I also have a very large child inside of me! I would love to ride in that airship. ;)

Thank you for visiting.

laser printers are fascinating

Yes, and cutters even more so...

A model railroad club that I was part of for a time had one to cut out designs for scale buildings...

My daughter's would like this there very intetested in science :)

Any Maker Faires in the U.K.?

No, I've never heard of them before reading your post

I ran a sheet metal laser for years. That Muse laser and Ferris wheel intrigue me - incredible detail.

How thick and what kind of metal(s) could it handle?
Inquiring minds want to know... ;)

Haha, oh do they? ;)

1 inch steel, and 1/2 inch aluminum. It was incredible to watch. Not a water jet, but still fun to manage a piece of equipment like that.

Wow, 1 inch?

Do you recall the make and model of that laser cutter? I'd like to read about it...

Have you ever heard of Brown's Gas? I have a Brown's Gas torch that will cut through more than an inch of steel... Brown's Gas is somewhat magical. ;)

Care for a video? ;)

A brown’s gas torch?! I am officially jealous.

Wow, thanks, that is one very slick piece of machinery... I want one in my shop. ;)

Fun to watch; similar to Brown's Gas in that it takes considerable time for the pierce to occur, after which the cutting is faster because the entire edge of the metal is exposed.

Interesting to see the "bed of nails" on which the work material is supported.

THANKS!

i like your posts. interesting things become my choice for comment .. good job.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64071.08
ETH 2763.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66