Midnight Ride - A True Surf Story

in #story7 years ago (edited)

"Generally speaking, surfing at night is dangerous."
- Harrison Roach -

A true story from my bodyboarding days.

It happened about twenty years ago...

Bodyboarding — True Adventure

Bodyboarding — True Adventure
Photo courtesy of Julie Macey and http://unsplash.com

"Hello, Cal?"

"I think this is it. This is the night."

"What are you talking about?" Cal sounds a little unsure on the phone.

"Are you up for our first Moonlight Boogie?"

"Hey, yeah, OK! Let's go!" I think I've hooked him.

It is about 10:00 PM.

I drive to Cal's. We load his body board, fins, wetsuit, and other gear into my van, and head for Grand View.

It is a beautiful, warm summer night. The moon is almost full.

We chose Grand View because it has good street parking and adequate lighting. Even better, there are no signs posted against nighttime parking. Besides, we're familiar enough with the break to work it blindfolded.

Our spirits are high with the excitement of a new adventure. Certain that riding waves by moonlight is possible, we are about to prove it. Earlier today, I had picked up a couple of chemical light sticks, and attached them to necklaces of strong cord for us to wear tonight.

I park the van under a streetlight.

We suit up and secure the van. Breaking and shaking our light sticks, we head down the long Grand View staircase to the ocean.

The Pacific is magnificent! Firefly flickers of millions of wavelets reflect the full moon, glittering in our eyes. At the bottom of the stairs, we don our fins and frog-walk into the surf.

We head down the long staircase.

We head down the long staircase.
Photo courtesy of Miguel A. Amutio and http://unsplash.com

Without sunlight and blue sky,

the water feels colder than usual, but in our anticipation we scarcely notice. I paddle out with some trepidation.

It is really hard to see incoming waves, so I duck-dive by sheer instinct. Cal is visible a short ways over, a shadowy figure with the bright green glow of his light-stick nearby in the water.

Finally we are past the strike zone. I set about trying to catch a wave, but fail several attempts. Finally, a dark swell approaches, and I go for it.

More by faith than sight,

I am suddenly lifted up, then swooping down and to the right. The moonlight is not bright enough to illuminate the finely detailed surface of the water only inches from my eyes, but years of experience take over. I ride by sheer intuition.

A dark swell approaches.

A dark swell approaches.
Photo courtesy of Miguel A. Amutio and http://unsplash.com

I am surprised by the feeling;

there is no sensation of speed. Rather, I find myself suspended, hovering between the depths and the sky, fine-tuning my trim and balance by instinct. Exhilarating!

Laughing with glee,

I start to paddle back out. In front of me, I see Cal kick into a wave and watch his glow-stick streak across the face in front of me.

Moonlight fills my dreams.

Moonlight fills my dreams.
Photo courtesy of Eduardo Martins and http://unsplash.com

After many more rides,

exhausted but happy, we drive home with plenty to discuss. How different and special this evening has been. Definitely worth repeating.

Moonlight on the water fills my dreams tonight.


~FIN~


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
>>CLICK HERE!<<


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

Magnificent and exhilirating night for you then..closing your eyes wouldn't have mattered :)

Thank you, dear!

There actually was important visual information. Without it, I would have been in trouble. With it, there was just enough to succeed... ;)

OMG Grandview.. Brings back memories. I was body boarding there so much late 90's early 00's. Cool post. Love it

Thank you, friend. Glad to stir some good old memories! :D

i used to go there at night when the red? tide was happening. So fun. You had me hooked on this post. Ill be reading yours from now on. thanks.

Thank you, my new surfing friend.

I have many surf stories already on my blog... Just click the GIF below and look for them in my Table of Contents. ;)
😄😇😄

@creatr

Wow I was completely lost in the story! Great one @creatr ;)

Congratulations @creatr! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Awesome post! I have tried night surfing a few times, it is all about instinct as you say. Those black walls jacking up out of nowhere, just turn and go and hope for the best...lol. What an exhilarating ride!

It is a real trip...

Thank you!

Here's another "night surf" story for you:

"Red Tide at Night"

Thanks , will check out for sure!

It's nice to have a buddy or two with you in the waters, especially at NIGHT!

Man @creatr

I don't have any moonlight or night surfing memorable experiences like that!

Thanks for the Midnight Ride...

You're welcome, and thank you for stopping by to comment! :D

I never surfed before in my life but now will try it out :-)

Good for you!

If you try it, and if you stick with it, you won't be disappointed! ;)

🙌🏼🙌🏼🙌🏼🙌🏼

I'm upvoting right now! I've Upvoted. Nice post from @creatr Thanks for sharing!

I like the part when you said "there is no sensation of speed. Rather, I find myself suspended, hovering between the depths and the sky, fine-tuning my trim and balance by instinct. "

Really awesome line, you rock like steem!

Thank you, @jimscope, I appreciate your encouragement! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66330.08
ETH 3331.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70