Fine Furry Friend Found Far From Family

in #story7 years ago

"The bird a nest, the spider a web, man friendship."
- William Blake -

I believe he's a kind of tarantula.

This fuzzy little fellow was found wandering through our front yard. I managed to snap several photos before he went on his way.

Tarantula in the yard...

Tarantula in the yard...
Photo by @creatr

I've never been crazy about spiders.

However, for the most part I'm a "live and let live" kind of person.

Tarantula in the yard...

Tarantula in the yard...
Photo by @creatr

For example,

I've been known to capture and release mosquito hawks, because I know that they devour pests that I don't care for. I've also caught and released crickets and moths and beetles.

Tarantula in the yard...

Tarantula in the yard...
Photo by @creatr

However, I have a some strong aversions.

Some critters, simply by existing, incur the death penalty with me.

Among them, you can count earwigs. Also, scorpions. Black widow spiders. Centipedes. I will kill such beasts just as soon as look at them.

Tarantula in the yard...

Tarantula in the yard...
Photo by @creatr

Although I find ants industrious,

if I see one in the house I will execute it on sight as a mercy to the colony. One ant always reports in when it finds water or food, leaving a trail behind it for all its uncles, aunts, cousins, brothers and sisters to follow. If I don't kill the few pioneering scouts, later on I end up having to kill ants by the hundreds or thousands.

Tarantula in the yard...

Tarantula in the yard...
Photo by @creatr

This fellow?

I have no quibble with him. He's just a wayfaring stranger, wandering through the desert waste of my yard.

God speed!

I never saw him again. Presumably, he found his way to wherever he was going.


~FIN~


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
>>CLICK HERE!<<


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

Congratulations @creatr! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Cool, I see these in my yard too. Boy are they fast. You were lucky to get such nice photos. This guy was accommodating.

Hi, @monkimo,

Thanks for stopping and commenting. This particular fellow was moving pretty slowly. I didn't stick around to watch where he went, but yes, he did give me a good opportunity to take some photos! ;)

Spiders are definitely on the "keep at arms length" list, but there are some really beautiful species out there. I had to stop one time and take pictures of a Yellow Garden Spider. Don't have the picture any more, but here is what they look like:

Hi, @crossedsteems!

We get some similar ones out in our yard also. They spin some pretty large webs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65725.20
ETH 3370.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63