Dreaming My Way to San Jose...

in #story7 years ago (edited)

"Last night I had the strangest dream..."
- Simon & Garfunkel -

I don't often recall my dreams...

They are usually pretty ephemeral, evaporating the moment I open my eyes.

Table of Contents

I don't often recall my dreams...
Image courtesy of hongwon jun and http://pixabay.com

For some reason, however,

I remember a lot of the details from a rather unusual dream I had last night.

"Do you know the way to San Jose?"

If you click on the YouTube above, you can enjoy the sweet Dionne Warwick tune while you read the rest of my story.

Yes, I've been to San Jose before. I'm sure I could find my way there, either by road or as the crow flies... But I have absolutely no idea why San Jose may have been on my mind. I have always loved the song.

Table of Contents
I was at an airport.
Image courtesy of Danilo Bueno and http://pixabay.com

In my dream,

I was apparently at an airport. I was standing in one of two queues of people queued up in front of a folding table, one of those six-foot-long jobs you might find in a hotel conference room.

Behind the table,

a couple of people were handing out little business-card-sized red cards. Each card entitled the bearer to a free airline flight.

Table of Contents
A Table
Image courtesy of OpenClipart-Vectors and http://pixabay.com

The reward seemed worth waiting a few minutes for in a line.

When I got up to the table, there was a small amount of explanatory chit-chat. The agent showed me both sides of the card, and somehow I ended up with two.

It must have been one of those days when all gates were occupied. I had to go outside the terminal building in order to board the plane. I found myself on the airport tarmac.

Table of Contents
The pass cards were red.
Image courtesy of Kamil Szeląg and http://pixabay.com

The boarding process,

however, was tricky business. Instead of the usual rolling staircase, there was a vertical ladder to climb. Balancing precariously at the top, I had to step over a gap to reach a walkway on a scaffold leading to the open cabin door.

This was complicated by the fact that I was carrying my own luggage. I was clutching two leather folios, about the size of attaché cases. I also had one rolled up sleeping bag, and some kind of pillow.

I managed to traverse the walkway.

As I entered the cabin of the plane, a stewardess greeted me at the door.

The aircraft was a typical "Jumbo Jet," with rows of red upholstered seats along the windows on both sides. Two aisles led toward the back, each providing access to either the window seats or to a central seating area.

Table of Contents

The aircraft was a "Jumbo Jet" with two aisles.
Image courtesy of Masakazu Matsumoto CC BY 2.0 via Wikimedia Commons

The first couple of rows were filled with adults. The rest of the first-class seats held mostly children. I went back a couple of rows, walking down the left aisle, and squeezed past some children to take an open seat nearer to the right aisle.

While I was seating myself,

I noticed someone I knew from church in the row in front of me. I fastened my seatbelt, and was surprised again to discover that the woman seated on the aisle to my left was another acquaintance.

I began to greet her, and that is when the dream ended.

Did we ever make it to San Jose?

I suppose I'll have to wait until tonight to find out.


For the story of another unusual dream:

"The Olie"


~FIN~

LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
>>CLICK HERE!<<


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

Look on the bright side?, you could have been dreaming that you only had one leg and were being pursued by an athlete with a chain saw in his hands?

Wow, pretty dark... I do occasionally have nightmares, but can't recall one at the moment... and not that dark!

My dreams are always back in my parents house, if you had given me a shout I would have come with you :)

Dream is not what you get in sleep. Dream is something which doesn't let you sleep.

It depends on the kind of dream, I suppose. :D

haha, it is fun to remember a dream and the details, it is so real and then you wake up and poof...

Yes, dreams are very curious... ;)

Regarding this site http://www.auntyflo.com/dream-dictionary/airports "Dreaming of an airport shows that your life would benefit from new relationships, new dimensions, a range of backgrounds, some travel, and a new phase of life. " and its very close to your dream. Lets see how it will go tonight :)

Thank you kindly for your comment, and also for the link to a "dream dictionary."
How interesting! :D

I myself don't put much merit into my dreams, most of the time it's just garbage in garbage out, Thanks for the tune.

I don't consider them terribly significant either, but they are sometimes more interesting than I expect. ;)

Thanks for stopping by!

Hmm, a round trip flight for San Jose and acquaintances in tow, how will this end? :)

I can't begin to tell you how many times I've had a dream, then it was interrupted, and oh how I wished that I could simply take up where it left off! :D

The odds of this specific one actually continuing seem unlikely to me... But, who knows?

Haha, I know that feeling!

Who knows, maybe since you put it on the blockchain things change. ;)

Thanks for sharing your dream with us, I see someone has already left you a link to a dream dictionary, they are great, and since you remember so many symbols from your dream, it would be easy to search up more meanings of your dream by entering in and searching each symbol, even every colour you can remember.

My question is: What do you feel the dream was trying to tell you now that you've had some more information and time to ponder it further?

Hi, Lindsay,

I honestly don't put too much "stock" in my dreams. I do find them somewhat interesting once in a while, when I remember them - which is rare.

Now that I have the dream dictionary at hand, I may consult it from time to time out of curiosity.

I think the most mysterious (and possibly significant in some generic sense) dream I ever had was this one:

"Ata Ata Archontos..." - A True Story

That was quite uncanny, but even so, I pretty much consider it a curiosity and not much more.

I have heard and read about lucid dreaming, and that does intrigue me quite a bit... It sounds as if one could sort of run their own "virtual reality" simulations, which could be a lot of fun... Like, for example, flying which is something I would love to be able to do... :D

Thanks for stopping by! ;)

Yes, it would be great to control the dreamworld, something I haven't been able to do yet, although I haven't put in a tonne of effort in trying to either.

Thanks for sharing your views, I'll look at your other post too!

remember what I said about the Lord coming back and we all flying away? - the boarding pass was the scarlet thread in this tale

Haha, this got my mind trying to interpret your dream as I find that those I can remember, tend to correspond to something I'm subconsciously stressing/thinking about. Like apparently, being in a car could mean your life. So if you're driving it, it could mean you feel that you're now in control of your life. Stuff like that. So interpretation is usually subjective since it's your brain's "leftover" or subconscious musings.

Yes, I don't doubt that dreams can be somehow connected to things we are concerned about at the time...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98