The Human Ghost.

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Ever had wierd dreams after watching a movie?

Particularly after watching that terrifying horror movie. I definitely did but that didn't stop me from watching them.

image
Source

I lived with my family somewhere in Western Nigeria. Apart fom the usual American horror movies, we had the native horror movies that featured terrible looking witches and wizards.
The sound of their laughter was so horrifying it sent chills of fear up your spine. Yet we would all gather and watch.

My uncle lived with us and he delighted in seeing that look of fear on our faces. I guess it gave him a thrill.

Imagine the nights when there would be a storm, there would be no sleep for me that night. Any little sound was enough to make me sit up on the bed, shivering in fear. I would later fall asleep in exhaustion.

I remember one particular occasion when i ran crying to my father's room for safety. It was just too much for me. The sound of thunder and the flash of lightning found me clutching him so tight i feared he stopped breathing for a moment.

He would later mock me in the presence of others, i really behaved like a baby that night. I don't need to tell you i never wanted to watch another horror movie after that experience.

Now, my encounter with my human ghost.

A year later found me in love with romantic movies. A great improvement, right?

But i had a problem, no one forgot my terrible night experience. I was teased at family gatherings even after a whole year.

Totally unfair, right?

On one such day, i was teased as usual and decided i won't take it any longer. I boasted i was now grown up and won't be affected by any movie they could come up with.

My devious uncle produced what he called the 'perfect movie'.

Friends, it was a night i would never forget. It was terrible. There was so much blood and ghosts that i felt my face grow pale progressively.

I was so scared i was going to faint but my uncle's knowing smirk kept me conscious. I succeeded in completing the movie. I was congratulated on my new found bravery.

Boy, i was so proud of myself.

Then, the time came to go to bed and i heard thunder in the distance. I knew i was in for another round of sleeplessness. The funny fact is once there is a possibility that the rains may fall, power would go, leaving us all in darkness and this fateful night was no different.

As i lay in my bed with the covers around me, praying the night would be over fast, i saw a flash of light through my bedroom window.

I sat up and crept closer but saw nothing.

I breathed a sigh of relief and went back to my bed.

Next i heard growling under my bed followed by mocking laughter. I was too terrified to scream as i felt my heart pound violently in my chest.

I considered running to the door but who knows what was making that sound, it could bite me or drag me down to the underworld like the movie we just watched.

I had a whole lot of thoughts running through my head at that moment when i saw the ghost! It had such a terrible expression on its painted white face. It was all dressed in white with long fingernails...and it was standing in my doorway!

image
Source

It was as if it was waiting for me to notice it. It laughed that terrifying laughter that i hear only in movies. It then started advancing towards my bed. If it was possible to enter the wall, i would have done so. I kept gripping the walls as if asking for help.

At last, i couldn't take it anymore, i closed my eyes and i screamed.

"Ghost! Ghost! Daddy! Mummy! Uncle! Save me please!"

I was in the comforting arms of my father when i opened my eyes. I cried tears of fear as i explained what i have seen.

My eyes were restless as they darted back and forth around my room as if searching for the elusive ghost. No one believed me of course, they all thought I had imagined it.

No amount of explaining could convince them. They all thought I was being affected by the movie I had watched.

I slept with my parents that night.

It was later discovered that my uncle had played that trick on me. I can tell you he was reprimanded for that expensive joke of his.

I had seen a human ghost played by my uncle!

That experience put me off horror movies for a while but now, i can watch them as much as i like without fear. No one can play that trick on me anymore.
Horror movies remain my favourite till date.

Written for @averageoutsider's writing contest. Check out the original post here

Sort:  

@Cheekah, thank you for using the naijapidgin tag.

We encourage and support minnows.

Join us on discord: https://discord.gg/5SR8CH4 for more fun and to submit your posts for curation.

You like what we are doing and would like to support us? Join our trail here: https://steemauto.com/dash.php?i=15&id=1&user=naijapidgin


Sponsored by @ogoowinner

Congratulations!,@cheekah Your post has been upvoted by @reachout


Our goal is to support Minnows on Steemit.

Join our discord group https://discord.gg/NWAkKfn



Major Upvote Sponsor : @bleepcoin

SP Donation by @rufans & @solomon507


Join Our Trail here: https://steemauto.com/dash.php?i=15&id=1&user=reachout

Congratulations @cheekah! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62033.06
ETH 3004.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48