Kalevala shortly #7 - The deal between Väinämöinen and Louhi, the Mistress of the NorthsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Wise old reliable Väinämöinen kept drifting in the endless back of the sea for days of week.

In his pinch a great fiery eagle, bird from Lapland whose wing bevels the sea while its other wing wipes the sky, gliding, winding, saw him:

enter image description here
"Why are you man in the ocean,
in the mercy of its combers?"

Väinämöinen said, like that he called:

"For a virgin in the North I went, maiden in the cold far darkness."

"With a riding stallion over seas, but shot it got, I fell down to
the sea to be drifted by wind, huge gale rampaging the ocean,
in the va'ast open waters, for days and nights here I've floated."

And such is eagle, the bird of air, who took Väinämöinen on his back carrying him along roads of wind to the far end back bottom of the world, to "the North".


Väinämöinen cried for three days on a shore where the eagle left him knowing he wasn't able to return to his birth land on his own.


A maiden of the North was doing her chores; when going throwing his motes in the end of an field, she heard a cry. Running back to his mistress she told she heard moaning from the shore.


"That is not a cry of a child, nor is it a moan of a wife."

"That is a cry of an old man, someone with a beard on his face"

...said Louhi, Mistress of the North, sparse teethed witch, ruler of the dark cold distant place, obscure for its location for the people of Kalevala.


Louhi went to Väinämöinen asking who was he and what was it that shed all the tears out of him.

Väinämöinen answered, said his words:

"I am the great Väinämöinen, at least once upon a time I was,
bringer of joy in every valley, barely do I know myself as,
the great singer in the glades of, fields of Kalevala anymore."

"I sorrow, from there I drifted, in the sea for ages I grieved,
to these lands so stra'ange to me, where no tree survives off the land."

"I wish I could my home land see, hear the birds, cucko'os singing,
there I would be better than here."

Louhi saw a chance to ask for a favor since Väinämöinen would've paid anything for her to get back to home, Kalevala:

"You're gold or silver I don't want, they are only useless junk to me;
Should you forge a Sampo for me, my daughter as price I'll give you."

Väinämöinen answered:

"I'm not one to forge the Sampo, but a blacksmith Ilmarinen,
one who has clanged the shield of sky! Forger eternal I'll put on work,
he shall forge the colored cover, as soon when you send me back home."

Louhi prepared a sleigh for Väinämöinen and send him heading back to his home:

"Do not let the praid grow in you, or a dark day shall come over."



Part 8: Väinämöinen's accident


Pics: 1, 2

Sort:  

Looking forward to the next chapter! A very interesting story! Hope you continue to do well. Take care @celestal!

:D I will try to keep a steady pace of at least one to two of these every week.

Please don't pressure yourself. I want you to get adjusted to your surrounds first! :D

Don't worry, 1-2 per week is a comfortable pace. Could you explain what do mean by surrounds? I'm not sure if I understood.

Surrounds means your new environment that you are in. Like new civil service area, new place to live, new area.

Ah, of course, I'll be showing even more places this weekend :D

Thank you for getting this out. @celestal

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by celestal from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Thanks for sharing :-) @celestal I am following. Best of Luck !

Thank you for your support @drawing-go!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64821.33
ETH 3466.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51