Freddy the Vampire (a kids Halloween story)

in #story7 years ago

There once was a Vampire named Freddy. Freddy was a strange one. He didn't like blood like the other Vampires did. He rather had Coca Cola, or Sprite, but the other Vampires forbid it.
You can't drink that sugery stuff, your teeth will rot and fall out. How you ever gonna suck blood without teeth? Silly Vampire. Freddy didn't mind his teeth, he didn't want to bite people anyway. He liked them, and especially kids. They Always made him laugh when he was watching them from a tree diguised as a bat.

zz1.png

What you should know, is that Freddy wasn't the brightest tool in the shed. He also was very clumsy. Many times he fell out of a tree, or he got locked up inside a house. He once was caught by a dog who played with him for several hours. He only got away when the dog fell asleep.
At a certain night, Freddy was watching some kids playing in their bedroom, while he was sitting on a brench in a tree. One of the kids saw him, and Freddy got scared en flew away as quick as he could. But he wasn't watching and bumped into a big oak tree. His head bumped against the tree and then he fell down. Poor Freddy was laying there, and when he woke up, he didn't know where he was. He looked at his bat body, and realized he should have changed into a vampire, but what were those magic words again? Freddy just couldn't remember. Freddy panicked, I got to turn back into a vampire. The others will miss me and say that I'm dump and clumsy. I can't go back the way I am now, I need to change back first.
He flew through the forest and ran into Franky.
Hey Freddy, flying around a bit? Shouldn't you be at the Vampires nest?

zz2.png

Freddy stopped flying and sat down with Franky. Yes you are right, but I bumped my head against the tree, and now I don't know how to change back anymore. Do you perhaps know the magic words to turn from bat to vampire?
Franky started laughing.
Would I be looking like this, if I knew the words to change in anything else than a green ugly monster? Kids won't play with me, they are scared of me, and that makes me sooooo sad.
Freddy felt sorry for Franky.
No, I guess you wouldn't. But I can honoustly say that I am absolutely not afraid of you. You're the nices monster I know.
Ah, thank you Freddy, that's so nice of you to say. May I give you an advice? Maybe Mathilda the witch can help you, you should look for her.
Okay, I will do that Franky! Thank you very much!
And off went Freddy, searching for Mathilda.

He flew over some pumpkins, he thought they might know where Mathilda was.

zz3.png

When he came down to them he already regrettd that he did. the pumpkins where laughing and giggling and talking, and talking, Freddy's ears started ringing.
Be silent for a moment, will you? Freddy shouted so hard they finally heard him.
Oh hallo Freddy, what are you doing here, shouldn't you....?
Yeah, yeah, I should, now tell me, do you know where the witch is?
You mean Mathilda, the happiest witch in the Woods?
Yeah sure I mean her, do you know where I can find her?
Sure, she's at the mushroom field, picking mushrooms for her magic soup.
Okay thanks, my dear pumpkin friends, I'll be going and leave you being all nice and giggly.
And off went Freddy, to the mushroom fields.

Then he saw her, Mathilda was picking all kinds of mushrooms while singing a song.

"Roses are sweet, but they are not what I need.
I need bugbones and frogs, to make sure my soup rocks!

Then she danced and picked some more mushrooms.
Freddy called her.
Mathilda, can you please help me?
Mathilda looked around to see where the voice was coming from, but she didn't see anyone.
Mmmm, maybe I had to much of the magic dance potion, Mathilda said.
I'm here Mathilda, above you, can you help me?
Well, first come down, my flying friend, so I can take a good look at you.
First Freddy was afraid, but she was the only one who could help him, so he overcame his fear and came down to Mathilda.

zz4.png

Ah, I know you, Mathilda said. You're that clumsy vampire. Having changing problems?
Freddy looked sad, yes Mathilda, I don't know the words anyore, and now I'm stuck being a bat.
Well, I think we can fix that, Mathilda said, and Freddy's heart was filled with joy.
You are the best Mathilda, I am not happy being a vampire, but being a bat is even worse. I got cramps in my wings, and bats are not the best walkers, you know? No, I don't. Mathilda said, what a silly question. How would I know, I'm not a bad, silly Freddy.
Wait a minute, Mathilda said and she looked like she was thinking really deep. Oh yes, that must solve the problem. Here we go.

Ibbety, obbety, abbety Labbadabba dibba doo.
A change gonna come,The thing you desire will happen to you!

A big pile of smoke surrounded Freddy, he started coughing, and then a strange feeling came over him.

When the smoke was gone, the witch looked worried. Now that is strange. You shouldn't be a ghost...? I'm really sorry, something went wrong. Don't worry, I'll fix it.
No, Freddy said, this is what I Always wanted. I can fly, I don't need to bite people and I can watch kids without being seen. Please don't change me back, You made me very happy.
Well, if that's what you want, that's the way it is, who am I anyway?
Freddy flew high into the air. He loved his new appearance. And from that day on, he went to childrens bedrooms to see them play, and Freddy is very happy they aren't scared of him and to hear them laugh.

So when at night, you hear a strange noise in your bedroom, don't be afraid, it's probably just Freddy, watching how you are sleeping and making sure you are perfectly safe. And that noise? Well, he might be a ghost now, but he's still clumsy, off course....

zz5.png

All figures made by @chemene

spook5.png

steempromo4.jpg

Sort:  

omg what a great story I definitely gonna read it to my daughter and how cool are those figures your daughter made. You really are a great team. I would also love to read the dutch version of this story. Keep up the great work @carlschrijft

Thank you, @chemene is really creative ;) The bat just brought this story to my mind ;)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @carlschrijft to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!
There is a sponsored @OriginalWorks contest currently running with a 125 SBD prize pool!
For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60526.80
ETH 2335.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53