Travel Back In Time With Me On The ORIENT EXPRESS

in #story6 years ago (edited)

20170626_124341.jpg

Imagine you can travel back in time just for a few moment.
Where will you go?

What time will you travel to?

A few months ago I had the privilege of traveling back in time just for few minutes.

It was fascinating!

How was I able to do this?

A few months ago I was close to the border of Italy on route to the city of Lugano Switzerland.
As I wait for my train I usally like to people watch. But today was very different.

Normally people traveling in this end of Europe usually travel in jeans backpack a small suitcase but very casual.
However today I noticed that they were groups of people very well dressed up. They seemed to be going to a classic concert where Pavarotti was performing!

I wondered why would anyone dress up so much to travel on a train?

Then suddenly I saw that these people were exiting a strange-looking train.
The colors the train was of black with linings of gold and very ancient looking. I decided to take a closer look.

And Behold! Written clearly for everyone to see was the sign, The Orient Express!

In the beginning I wasn't very excited about this train as I am now.
After doing further research I've come to realize that the Orient Express has a wonderful history.

Hang out with me as we travel back in time, back to the 1800s.

History of the Orient Express
The Orient Express was created by the company Compagnie Internationale des Wagons-Lits in the 1883.

20170626_124815.jpg

20170626_124810.jpg

It was originally designed as a long distance passenger train,
traveling between two prominently cites at that time Paris and Constantinople ,Istanbul.

Orientexpress1883.JPG
source: wikipedia

Aff_ciwl_orient_express4_jw.jpg
source: wikipedia

How did it become known as the world's most glamorous train?

The Visionary
In the 1800's traveling by train was rough dirty and dangerous.
For many years only the mega rich could afford to travel through Europe.

It took the vision and dream of a man called Georges Nagelmackers who fell in love with trains and luxury travel.

Georges_Nagelmackers_OrientExpress.jpg
source: cdn.history.com

While visiting the United States he experienced traveling in luxury train cars invented by George Pullman.

What fascinated Mr Nagelmackers was that the train cars were clean well kept with friendly workers and beds for sleeping.

This concept was not found in Europe.

Mr Nagelmackers took his dream to Mr Pullman to create similar luxury trains and Europe.
However Mr. Pullman decline Nagelmackers offer.

Not giving up on his dream Nagelmackers return to Europe with the idea to create an even more luxury train that would travel from Paris to Istanbul Constantinople without stopping at borders.

Orient Express Rise To Fame*
When a person has a dream and is determined to fulfill it nothing will stop them.
And this is exactly what mister
Nagelmackers did.

To fulfill his dream he made alliances with King Leopold II of Belgium.
This king was a famous for his enthusiasm in railroads with strong ties to some of Europe’s most powerful monarch at that time.

King Leopold II was able get Nagelmackers permission to run his trains across international borders without restrictions.

With his determination to create a train that was the most luxurious at that time, Nagelmackers designed the trains with wood polished surfaces, plush seats, beds with silk sheets.

Inside was a restaurant that served fancy dishes like oysters,caviar, and musicians that serenaded the passengers.

I had the privilege of meeting one of the passengers who was kind enough to take my cell phone and take pictures from inside the cabin.

As I looked from the outside in it seemed that I was transported back into time.

Here's a brief look inside:

20170626_124354.jpg

20170626_124629.jpg

20170626_124654.jpg

20170626_124633.jpg

People that made the Orient Express even more famous were the likes of Robert Baden-Powell, a British spy who founded the Boy Scouts,

Mata Hari, who took the train during her European dance tour.

King Leopold, who had a private car on the train just for his mistress.

Josephine Baker, who gave an unrehearsed concert to wounded passengers after a 1931 accident.

There's a 2017 modern version of the movie called "Murder on the Orient Express", with an All-Star cast with actors like Johnny Depp Michelle Pfeiffer, Judi Dench, Willem Dafoe and Penelope Cruz.

murder.jpg
Source: http://www.ohgizmo.com

Would you like to travel on the Orient Express?*

I was so excited when I looked inside the train so I immediately started planning to travel on the Orient Express.

But my dreams were almost shattered after speaking to one of the passengers.

I asked them what was the cost of traveling on the Orient Express.
The lady hesitated a little bit then she said it was expensive.

They said they were planning this trip for years to celebrate their 40th year wedding anniversary.

I dug even more to find out exactly what it was costing them.
They never did mention what they were actually paying, I guess they were modest and that they was staying in a very luxurious cabin.
But they did mentioned the starting cost was £2,210 one way and only for 24 hours!

Well I guess that's my anniversary present on my 40th anniversary, only 35 years more to go!

The guests did mention that it was worth every penny they paid.
They mention that the food was world class, romantic and with five star accommodations.

Dress Code
If you're thinking of traveling on the Orient Express I must warn you that jeans are not allowed.

You cannot over dress on the Orient Express.
For dinner, men usually wear a suit tie and women dress in classy elegant attire.

However many of the guests choose don black ties or evening dresses for the occasion.

During the day, the dress code is smart-casual. At lunch a jacket and tie is usually worn by men.

Well I hope you enjoyed the story of the Orient Express.
Let me know in your comments below what you found most impressive.

20170626_124452.jpg

Caribbeanmon 👊🏾

Sort:  

This orient express was so fascinating and very expensive haha, i was impress on how the train was designed and how luxurious it is

Yeah me too.. it was just amazing to look at!

Cool! I actually just saw the movie;)

Me too and I liked it very much! I think it has it's old charm but combined with modern cinema technique. So you had a very lucky meeting!

I know I was really fortunate. Maybe one day we can all travel on it together😎

Really, how was it?

I too wanted to do this trip until I saw the prices and other requirements. @caribbeanmon , I'm not sure I would want to have to dress up all the time, and not to mention the horrific cost. I think I will skip this one and do the trans siberian express instead, a fraction of the cost and less formal. But I guess, each to their own. Thanks, that was a very interesting read.

its looking an really interesting travel with you u have got the quality i am sure no one will feel bore to go with u!

Awesome. Well worth a resteem!

Thanks so much @kus-knee 😊

Amazing. Very expensive train ticket

Indeed, but I heard from the passengers that it's worth it.🤔
One day I will find out for sure.😎
Thanks for your support @snooway 🤛🏾

I would definitely go pre-historic, dinosaurs and mammoths and first humans and what not :O
But only if "for a few moments" of course hehe

Such a cool post! I never thought about the history of the orient express. I have heard that name a lot but never bothered to look it up. So fascinating.

I was just fortunate that I was at the train station at that time to see this beautiful train.
I hope one day to take a tour on it😎
Thanks for your support @smawkward

Woowww thats so amazing.
Nice to meet you and im from indonesia. Dont forget to follow and support me @suararakyat

Wow.......i like this traveling..amazing this photo...i like this post .all the best...

I also love traveling to if only I had more time..
Thanks for your support @mdismail 🤛🏾

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11