CARIBBEAN MAN STRANDED IN EUROPE, Part 4 - My Daughter In My Arms Again!

in #story7 years ago

FB_IMG_1517393245992.jpg

My daughter stared at me, clutching her doll. She looked at me as if I was a stranger. “Who is this man?” She seemed to be thinking. As I walked up the steps towards my daughter’s grandmother's house, I fought really hard to keep my emotions under control. The moment had arrived when I could finally lay eyes on my little girl for the first time in months.

She had grown so much. As I approached the door, she ran inside the house, beckoning to her grandmother that someone was at the door. Her grandmother replied with big smile “Hey! It's your father. He's here for you!”

My daughter looked at me with a strange expression, as if she knew me but she wasn't quite sure. I gestured to her to come to me but she didn't. She just clutched her doll and hugged her grandmother. I couldn't believe it - my daughter did not know me anymore!

Trying to control my emotions, I kept speaking to her in soft tones, singing songs from her childhood which I hoped she would remember.
Even though she was afraid to come close, she kept her eyes fixed on me. I guess she was beginning to realize that I was her father.

In the end, I had to leave to purchase groceries so I tried one more time to have her come over to me and give me a hug.

Eventually she did. Finally I thought.
I picked her up in my arms. It felt so good holding my baby girl after almost 6 months.

We walked for about 20 minutes to the nearest supermarket.
All this time my daughter hugged me and never let me go. I thought she now realized how much she had missed me, and that her Papi was really there with her.

Two days later I left the Dominican Republic and was on my way back home.
I was a little stressed out because I did not have a passport for my daughter. All kinds of thoughts were swirling through my head but I prayed and kept a positive mindset.

To my surprise they didn't pose much of a challenge.
After presenting my documents and showing my daughter's birth certificate, they allowed me to leave the country. I was finally on my way home.

From the departure gate, I could discern sadness in the eyes of my daughter's grandmother.
Her granddaughter was leaving. My daughter didn't realize what was going on - she didn't realize that she was leaving her grandma behind.

Reality finally kicked in for Carmencita when we boarded the aircraft. She suddenly realized that her grandmother, who had taken care of her over the last 6 months, was no longer around. Carmencita started crying! What was I to do now?

My dream had finally come true. My daughter was with me again. But the reality was that I had to take care of her from now onward.

Life back at home is definitely not easy. I don't have a real job. My daughter is only three years old, and she's at such a delicate stage of her life. This is definitely going to be a life changer.

Lessons I've Learned
No matter how insurmountable your obstacles seem to be, there's always a way over them.
When you really want something, you will do whatever it takes to make it happen!

Many people say that they don't have money to start a business, or they don't have the means to go back to school.
Whatever excuses you come up with, they're just excuses and hence are not real.

If you really want something you will surely find a way to get it!
You just have to be persistent and keep doing something every single day to move closer toward your dream.

FB_IMG_1515334917484.jpg

Caribbeanmon 👊

Sort:  

Beautiful and touching post about the realities of life. Look forward to the next part;)

Great to see you together again!

Nice post man!!!

Thanks @frick for your kind support! 🤛

You are so inspiring! Your daughter is beautiful! Thank God there are people like you in the world. For every person feeling sorry for themselves and feeling defeated your message is so powerful. Keep up the awesome work! We are all rooting for your grand success!

@caribbeanmon , you came out of nowhere and you are killing it in Steem with stunning content. This truly shows that when one is dedicated success does not take long to follow.
@caribbeanmon is a straight shooter and I am glad to see that he continues to give solid advice.

Thank you for your heartfelt comments.. I became very emotional 😊 what can I say... I just hope my story can benefit someone one day.
Thanks again for your support @tamala

Thanks for the encouragement comments
@jasmina. It really means a lot to me 😊

Beautiful story

I'm glad you two are together again. Enjoy every second of it, you'll never ever get it back if you don't spend time with her!
Cheers

Wow! My love to your daughter friend.
This won't be so easy taking all the responsibility but I hope you find all the strength and encouragement you need.

Your daughter is beautiful by the way.

Wow!so lovely of that little angel, as what is @goodvibrations in one of his/her quote that,

"Ability is what you're capable of doing. Motivation determines what you do. Attitude determines how well you do it"

This 3 words are one of the key to success😊

wooo !. this is amazing. I really could not grow up with my father and only sometimes I could see him when he was on vacation but what you did was a great decision. This is a very important stage of his life and he needs his father. I always tell my family that >>> a child grows up and becomes an adult but never claimed money or toys. the child will ask for your time and will remember you for those good moments shared ... greetings to your beautiful baby

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58010.39
ETH 2457.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34