You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 'New Rain' - Steemit Story Chain #16 Where You Write the Story and 100 Whaleshares for the Winner

in #story7 years ago

2

The cast went out to a celebratory dinner. A popular mainstream song was playing in the background. Just then, the music changed to an oldies song and my thoughts drifted to the town in my vision. I would have chalked it up to being a waking vision or dream of some sorts, but I felt the rain. I felt the cold as it seeped onto my skin. Even now I could still smell the fresh, earthy scent of rain. Snapshots of the town played in my memories. The paved streets and ancient car beside me reminded me of the 1900s era. The posters in the shop had women in fancy hats and gowns advertising anything from skin cream to healing tonics. All were of brands I’ve never heard of before and all were priced in the cents. When did anything cost 25 cents nowadays?

Images and images twirled in my mind. I remember standing by my car. At least, I think it was my car. I’ve never seen it before but somehow I knew it belonged to me. The rain was unexpected and had caught me by surprise. I remember staring around in amazement when I felt a tap on my shoulder. I turned around and was shocked to see my own eyes starting back at me.

No. Those eyes belonged to someone else. Her eyes were a soft cornflower blue. They were a shade lighter than my own eye color. She too was wearing a hat and gown, just like the posters in the storefront windows. I realized then that she was holding something out to me. It was an umbrella. “Excuse me” she said. “I couldn’t help but notice that….” Just then, I was drawn back to reality.

“A toast to the best performer of the night” the director lifted his glass ceremoniously. The woman from the vision faded away. Her voice, beautiful and melodious, was lost in my thoughts as cheers erupted around the table. I was in the now again.

Sort:  

Hey @butterb, thank you for your entry to the story chain, the winner has just been announced and a new story chain has begun - https://steemit.com/story/@freedomexists/was-she-there-steemit-story-chain-16-where-you-write-the-story-and-100-whaleshares-for-the-winner

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67838.57
ETH 2628.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72