A Digital Television Network by Women of Color, Blossom

in #story7 years ago

Late last year, I challenged myself to contact 10 people I admired online. Mostly because I felt like I hadn't made new friends in a while and spent a lot of time working, not connecting.

So, I reached out to Television Producer and Digital Content Creator, Diamonde Williamson. Following her on Instagram had introduced me to her latest project, Blossom, but I had no idea how important this startup would be for female creatives.

Blossom is a new kind of television network. Although it’s online and similar to Netflix, ultimately, all of it's content is by women of color-- Black, Latina, Asian and anything in between.

She told me that she launched the network after pitching her own content ideas to current networks and being rejected more than a few times, realizing that she had to do it herself. With that in mind, Diamonde began to meet other content creators and filmmakers with astounding work and nowhere to put it. She told me she knew this was something she had to do and that Blossom is the product of these realizations.

Here are some things I really like about Blossom:

blossom-home.png
#1 There is a 14-day free trial. Like most live streaming platforms, it's awesome to try it before you buy it. Also, it's cheap. $4.99/month is a cup of fancy coffee.

blossom-shortfilms.png
#2 Short films! I like a quick, cool story.

blossom-inspo.png
#3 The Inspirational section. We all need some inspo sometimes, and honestly I enjoy knowing that it come from a producer who typically is turned down because she dares to show that we are more than reality TV.

I asked Diamonde to give me a short way to describe her "blossoming" network, and she said...
Blossom is for the women who want to create content but don’t have a home for it.
Blossom is for the woman who wants to see more women like herself on television.
Blossom is for us.

Let's just say that I am so happy I reached out to her and even more excited that women are creating things they wish existed.

You can learn more about supporting or working with Blossom by visiting www.blossomnetwork.tv or visit www.watchblossom.com to start watching.

Sort:  

Gabrielle,

First of all, I love that you are looking around for #PowerGuides and that you found somebody who truly inspires you. Blossom is such a great idea. I too am excited that women like Diamonde are taking initiative, inventing a place for themselves in the world, and paving the way for more of us to do the same.

Happy to find more WOC on Steemit to connect with as well. I'm following you and will also check out Blossom Network. I have a project that is very much in line with this vision. It might be fun to collaborate in the future.

Best Wishes,
Aubrey

P.S. Here is a bit more about me if you're interested.

Congratulations @businessrules! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57913.08
ETH 2452.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36