The Legitimate Ticket

in #story6 years ago (edited)

pexels-photo-298018.jpg

“Tickets, please.” he said, reaching out.

A brief moment of dread, followed by a flash of panic, rushed over me.
I fumbled around in my coat pocket -- empty.

“It must be in my wallet,” I said, smiling nervously.

I thumbed my way through the various compartments and leathery folds until I found it tucked behind my library card and handed it over as casually as I could muster.

As always, he stared at it for what seemed like an age, with an expression of intense bafflement that almost suggested this was the first time he'd ever seen a train ticket. Finally, he nodded in approval and handed it back to me before moving on.

“Tickets, please… Tickets, please… Tickets, please.”

I’d gotten away with it again, somehow.

Sort:  

Congratulations @blunderstorm! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57946.22
ETH 3059.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34