Spare time

in #story7 years ago

In my spare time I read the story synopsis of comics and anime that I've heard of.

I don't have time to actually watch them, you see, but I do like to read it from time to time.

I'll spend hours pouring over storylines. I'll go through wiki pages until I'm up far past my deadline. I'll learn about characters' back stories, and how they change depending upon which storyline they're pumping out this year.

hulk2.png

Did you know that there was a version of the Hulk where Bruce Banner is the last non-monster-ee thing alive after a bunch of wars? He keeps getting eaten alive by a bunch of weird bug creatures, only to regenerate later. It's pretty heart-breaking, because it's all about the internal struggle he's had with this creature his entire life. At the end of the story, I'm pretty sure the Hulk takes over.

I don't really know much about Hulk outside of that, other than that he smashes things. Neat story line though, although it mentions that all the other superheroes died in the war.

I guess that makes it kind of shitty.

Did you know that there was a Punisher storyline where he kills a mother/father pedophile team in their basement while their kids are upstairs? I'll always remember that comic because, at the end, he looks at the kids upstairs and says something along the lines of "I'm pretty sure I saved the girl ... but I could tell I'd be seeing the boy again in a few years" (implying that he would be just like his parents).

Again, pretty sad stuff. There's that euphoria you get when he kills the bad parents who are doing this to a bunch of kids, followed right after by the sad feeling that he hasn't exactly stopped the cycle from continuing on.

punisher.png

The Punisher has had quite a few different storylines. Every few decades they seem to change the type of war he's been in, but I guess it's all pretty much the same, right?

Shifting gears, have you ever watched the anime X? Or read the manga? Or seen the TV series? Apparently they all have different endings. And, on top of that, I hear the manga's never ended. They put things on hold. What a bummer! I'd love to know what the true ending is.

Anime. Manga. Cartoons and comics.

After all these years, I'm beginning to think that a lot of these series are just loads of shit.

They never end. The stories never come to a full conclusion. Or, if they do, they start up again later as if nothing happened. A separate earth. A different dimension.

It pisses me off.

I wish that my life were like that, where I could just say, "hey, that's a wrap, let's start over but change a few things to make them cooler, ok?"

Wouldn't that be neat?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63721.78
ETH 3503.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54