Part 2 / DANIEL

in #story8 years ago (edited)

The Story He Read Again And Again

If you missed Part 1 CLICK HERE

Daniel / Part 2

When I got home I went back to my book about Daniel. By the time I reached page 56 I had learned he was immersing himself into his writing and trying to forget his lost love.

My doorbell rang. When I answered- the policeman who had filed my report was peaking into my mailbox and jotting down notes. He said, “After you left I noticed on your form that Daniel is your middle name.”

I answered politely, “Yes, but only one person has ever called me Daniel. The policeman asked who it was. I stood for a moment in silence as if trying to remember the day I was born- then I said, "a girlfriend." "

A girlfriend'" he said. "

Yes, a girlfriend who left me without explanation- who didn't return any calls or answer my letters- she is the only one who ever called me Daniel- now I am trying to push the name Daniel out my life.” Then with a small hint of anger I added, “Eugene is my name- my first name is, Eugene.”

The policeman responded, “I also noticed your hand writing matches the writing on this suicide note you gave me down at the station.”

I said, “I don’t think so, but even if it does, you can easily see I'm alive, no suicide here... so is everything alright?”

He jotted more notes, then said, “I will be adding all this to your file- Eugene.”

After he left my mind kept replaying his questions. I became troubled and confused; thinking that if both Elizabeth and the police thought I was Daniel, maybe I was; but the harder I thought, the more uncertain I was. It was as if my own history was chalk being wiped from a blackboard.

In desperation I found the address Elizabeth had given me and left to see if she could help give me answers.

I walked to a basement apartment near the near the old steel works. There was a note on the door,
“I knew all along you were Daniel and seeing you helped me to know that I love you- and since you pretended to be someone else, I suddenly can’t go on living, Elizabeth.”

No one came to her door when I knocked. I pounded on the windows, but still no one came. Fearing the worst I broke down the door. Elizabeth wasn't inside, but the book she was reading was lying on a chair. It was open to page 81. I recognized it was a book just like mine, then realized she had read further than I had.

I flipped to the spot I had stopped and began reading to see what it was Elizabeth had learned. I read that Daniel was working hard to finish writing his book and that his main character Daniel was beginning to show signs of paranoid schizophrenia.

Watch for the conclusion tomorrow.

Thank you for supporting my work.

Writing and art are my own.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63422.01
ETH 2688.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58