Storyteller's Collective - Series Debut

in #story7 years ago

Storytellers have been with us forever. The observers and preservers of human experience. Using fact and fiction, farce and fear, they draw us into worlds they weave with their words.

And we fall, willingly, under their spell.

source

This series will be a showcase of Storytellers I've come
to admire and a spotlight on folks I've just discovered.

I hope you enjoy the selections and add your favorites.


@shadowspub brought us sad news today as The Vinyl Cafe Fades to Black - Stuart McLean Dead at 68. It was a few years ago when I first heard Mr. McLean on The Vinyl Cafe. The local NPR radio station would broadcast the show weekly and I happened to catch it when I was driving to a pet-sitting appointment. I'm still searching for the story I heard that night. Here's hoping it will pop up someday.

Until then, here's an excellent sample of Stuart McLean's magic...


Another radio favorite I've grown to enjoy is The Moth. They feature three or four Storytellers in each program. There is an overarching 'theme' to the stories, but the stories themselves can veer off in wildly different directions from one another. Twists I didn't see coming are the rule rather than the exception. I'm learning to stop anticipating and just listen. It's harder than you think!

For now, though, I'm going to pick a couple that I've especially enjoyed. I hope you enjoy them, too!

My Bald & Blue Period by John Grady
After many years in the legendary Blue Man Group,
a performer makes a profound connection with an audience member.

A Change of Plans by Tim King
An educator takes in a troubled student after his mother dies.

Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Sort:  

That sounds simply amazing a project to be sharing storytellers with us. I look forward to hearing them and/or reading about them. Thanks you for sharing!

All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

Thank you for the encouragement. I'm taking the perspective that it's a treasure hunt. Who knows what gems will come to light. And, please, feel free to share anyone you think we'd appreciate. The more the merrier!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.95 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 17 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Good idea starting a series. Nice job Deb.

I have not been able to keep up with everyone I want to on here, I am sorry.

I know you understand though why. But still.

No apologies necessary! Drop in when you can and no worries if you can't. Taking care of yourself is job one right now, so focusing on that makes sense.

TY for being a good friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25