The Stain of Mordred part 30.

in #story6 years ago

DSCF0250 (2).JPG

The Mage.

Mick came back to the car looking worried as he got into the drivers seat passing one of two burger he held to George.
“Talk in the transport cafe is of road blocks up ahead, the story been given out is that there is an escaped terrorist prisoner they’re looking for. As such all the usual traffic headed to Stonehenge is being stopped and searched.” he said looking at George.
“You think they’re looking for us?” George asked.
“You said this Mordred had great powers so I think the bastard has the police doing his dirty work in trying to find you.” Mick said. “We could work with the police from Glastonbury as we knew them, me best of all. We won’t make a deal with these guys, we can’t get them to turn a blind eye to us.”
“Let me guess you had a room reserved in the station.” George said shaking his head.
‘Not quite you cheeky bastard, I had a sort of friendship with them, they looked out for me and when I was on the streets and the weather was bad they’d take me in overnight for drunk and disorderly even if I was sober.” Mick said in mock outrage.
“So how was that good?” George asked.
“A warm bed and breakfast in the morning, one of the duty sergeants would even slip me a fiver in my belongings for lunch.” Mick said with a smile.
“Well we need to work with the police in front of us, we have to get to Stonehenge tonight to do our stuff and from the map we can’t walk it in time. It’s time for a bit of deception of our own. When I tell you to look in the mirror do so but don’t freak out, it’s just a disguise I’m crafting for you.” George said and after a moment to concentrate he indicated Mick should look.
“Fucking hell man, you turned me into the vicar!” Mick said in shock. “What happens if I need the toilet?”
“It’s just an illusion, and you said that in Reverend Karen’s voice so please no more swearing for now. Don’t worry you’re still in your own body.” George said.
“Oh man this is better than every acid I ever dropped, so what about your disguise?” Mick asked inspecting himself in the rear view mirror.
“No one will see me but I need to do that at the last minute as it take energy to pull off these illusions that I need to save for tonight.” George said climbing over to the back seat. “Let’s go Reverend and don’t forget you’re a woman of the cloth so no swearing at the police.”

The car pulled away from the road block and passed down the road, the police had hardly paid any attention to the car.
“Am I still the Reverend.” Mick asked.
George sat up and looked behind at the receding police cars of the road block.
“No, you’re Mick again.” he replied.
“Good, but fuck me that was some intense shit!” Mick shouted in joy.
“We need to dump the car close to the stones and walk the final bit of the way, you should stay with the car.” George advised.
“Fuck off mate, I’m with you all the way. Not every day a drop out druggie like me gets to try and save the world.” Mick said with a grin.
“You lot are all having far too much fun to say we’re facing the end of the world.” George said.

As dusk began to fall Mick pulled the car off the road and drove down a farm track before pulling it into a small patch of bushes and trees. Stonehenge was just a couple of miles away across the fields and could be seen as they got out of the car ready to set off.
“Last chance Mick, there is a good chance we won’t be coming back from Stonehenge.” George said to him gazing out at the henge.
“Didn’t do much with my life for over thirty five years apart from making drug fuelled memories. Then you showed up and instead of seeing dragons guarding the fridge during an acid trip I saw the real thing.” Mick said standing next to George and looking at the stones as well.
“You were still tripping when you saw the real dragons.” George pointed out.
“A minor detail, other people not tripping saw them too so they were real. I look around now and see an amazing world and I’ve missed seeing it all my life, so may as well risk dying so others get a chance to see it Healer.” Mick said with a shrug.
“The names George, George Stevenson.” George said and turned and held out my hand.
Mick took his hand, a thoughtful look on his face. “Stevenson was my mum’s maiden name, my middle name is George after her dad and granddad.” He said in shock. “Her granddad was a doctor in the first world war but disappeared soon after returning, before her dad was born.”
George froze for a second but recovered quickly. “Well that’s a coincidence, suppose it was a common name back then.” he lied quickly.
“Well George, let’s go save the world.” Mick said cheerfully after a moments pause.

To be continued.

Sort:  

I never saw that coming, that Mick was his great grandson!

I didn't when I first introduced Mick, it wasn't until I wrote that part that the idea came to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56