How I (almost) got scammed!

in #story6 years ago (edited)

I was just browsing through the newest #introduceyourself post, as I like to support (as much as I can, with 0.01$ votes) people new to the platform, I met an awesome graphics designer @juderoyal and suggested him to check out utopian desing jobs. He was nice and responded to my comment, saying he wanted some help with the utopian things, and wanted to chat on Steem Chat. I didn't know this site existed so I quickly registered and I was ready to chat but unfortunately he was offline by the time.

Meeting the scammer

I continued browsing steemit introduction posts, when suddenly a really loud sound effect started, it was steem chat indicating I had a message. But it sadly wasn't from juderoyal... it was from another person, creator.

Creator Was nice in the beginning

He introduced himself, we talked about general stuff, how long we've been on steemit, how did we get here. He sent his steem profile and it had 4 blog posts and like 16 posts in total, and he was on steemit since 1.5-2 years. I should've been suspicious at this point, but I liked how I can chat with totally random persons so I continued to do so.
Then he asked:

Do you have another account, which you're not using?

I replied:

No I only have this account

Then he wrote:

Don't you want some sp

And I wrote:

Why wouldn't I want SP?

The scam begins

After this he wanted to login to my steemit account, now this raised the last red flag.
I was suspicious about why he was so nice, just to donate SP to a totally random without anything in exchange, but now I saw through it.
But I'm still relatively new to the whole steemit thing, so I began searching if one could just send SP like you can send SDB, and I found a post which explained the method.
Then I sent this method to him, so he could donate some SP me.
Which he replied to:

Good.

I was pretty sure at this point he's just your regular scammer, but I waited a bit maybe he's really that nice and wanted to help small people to grow. But no donations after a couple of minutes.
So I decided to ask the community.

The nice side of steemit

I wrote to the general channel on steem chat, and only theoretically I asked if a friend would need to login to my account in order to send SP to me.
All the responses where negative. This made me believe even stronger that this was a scam, but then I released the real events. I explained how a random person wanted to send me SP, now experienced users instanly knew this was a scam so they suggested, that I don't go into this thing.
The two nice people who helped were:
@sykochica and @ancapbarbie thank you again for your help and time!
sykochica offered to send a screenshot of the scam to a mod channel and then get creator's account deactivated by the admins. So I took the screenshot and sykochica took care of the rest!

After the scam

He later contacted me about something blocktrades and 10 SBD, but I couldn't clearly understand because it was in very bad english, assuming it was another try to scam me, I just blocked him and I hided the chat with him, so I would never have to deal with him again.
This positive side of the community reminded me when we came together and helped @crystalhuman because his wife had a really bad disorder explained in this post. We raised quite a lot of money in cryptocurrencies including SBD and BTC and others.

The irony in this scam (hopefully)

So here's the thing, the scammer failed to scam me so in a normal scenario I would financially remain equal to before the scam. However he made me a free story to write about here, so if you would press that upvote button I would come out of the scam financially positive, meaning with more money before the scam! Isn't that AMAZING?
This could only happen on steemit, so I'm lucky to be here.
Thank you for reading this long, (hopefully not too) boring post!

Sort:  

I appreciate your desire to protect your account against downvotes from scammers, but I'm honestly curious which Steemit account it was, if you know. If they flag this post, enough of us will come together both to counter their flag and to destroy their account that they should probably think twice before doing so. This platform and its communities are nothing if we are not voluntarily supporting one another and defending against fraud, plagiarism, spam, and abuse without the need for centralized "authority".

For the scammer:

Thank you for the support, I updated the post!

Congratulations @ah101! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @ah101! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @ah101! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54391.40
ETH 2283.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29