DILEMMA

in #story-300words7 years ago (edited)

Susan walked sluggishly into the basement of the building. It was all dark, deserted and quiet. Her heart, beating so hard and fast; she could hear the reverberation. The instruction of the male voice on phone was very clear. Access the basement through the East Wing gate and go straight, towards the sewage tunnel. Turn right at the far end of the alley and make sure no one follows you! To the best of her ability, she has ensured to abide by every detail of the conversation, but she still wondered how anyone got to know of her malpractice two years ago, to now blackmail her with it.

As she turned to enter the room at the end of the alley, she met a man with a gun pointed at her. Her heart skipped a beat, a cold shiver running down her spine. She initially halted, but thoughts of running flooded her mind.

As she finally tried to turn back, she found a thickset man already behind her, blocking her way. At this point, she surrendered. The man with the gun started, “We have a plan and you are going to help us achieve it.” He described the process to her. It was dangerous, risky and implicating but she had no choice.
On the slated day, Susan enters the exquisite restaurant looking flashy, radiant, and ravishing. She is dressed in a skimpy blue gown. She has no idea why these guys want Mike poisoned or what the poison will do to him.

She pretends to be listening as Mike speaks but she is waiting for the slightest opportunity to poison his drink. While she is still strategizing, some cops swarm the restaurant, searching everywhere. She is freaking out and is confused.


Word Count: 291

Image Sources: 1 2 3

I am using this opportunity to invite all steemians, especially minnows to participate in this wonderful short story initiative by @swissclive. Check out the procedure HERE

Sort:  

The ending is a bit like a tv show, where they have that final shot of the police surrounding a building and then it fades to black. What happens next?! XD

That said, I really liked the beginning of the story best. The imagery was good!

I could copy and re-paste your comment, @saryn as my own. You say it all too well.

I can only add what i believe happened
Either Susan was blackmailed, in which case the story is ended, or the story is just starting and Susan's arrest will start an inquest....and finally the motive.

I hope @tolustx you did not simulate/re-write fsome movie/tv script.

That said. it is well narrated.

lol. There was no simulation or manipulation of anyone's story. It is all from my imagination. Some of my descriptions are not actually explained the way I intended to elucidate them. The pictures I used constrained my writing.

Thanks for your comment. 300 words could not really contain the weight of the story. Then I like my short stories to always make my readers ask for more. The story could be fully blown anytime from now.

#Anticipate...

Well enough, now that you say.

It is a good read, i assure you. Just that its resonance with the plot of most movie scripts makes the story appear all too familiar and less original.

But you got its text and rhyme all well. You make for a good movie writer.
let me anticipate more, which i will now probably read in your blog as this @swissclive challenge has a ceiling of 300 words for any given story.

Now in anticipation, will i follow you!!!

This is a good read. And I love the suspense at the end.

Thanks boss. I now owe my followers the rest of the story. I promise to pay that debt, hopefully soon.

The skill of this initiative is to squeeze a complete story into 300 words. I feel you cramped the ending to meet the target number if words. I think you could have cut elsewhere to make the ending more complete. We are left with too many unanswered questions here. Thanks for trying.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66425.17
ETH 3185.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63