Contest Entry - Metaphorical short story about a phase in my life

in #story-300words7 years ago (edited)

(the cover photo is some sketch of how I visualized the gem in this short story)


Good day Steemit community! This is my first time to join a contest, and I'm excited to share this entry with you. The mission is to write a 300-word short story to express creativity . You can read more about the contest here, and maybe you can participate as well. Oh, and I've resteemed it as well, in case you get lost. All thanks to @swissclive for this opportunity! 


An inspiration behind the entry

Before I present the entry, I just want to share what inspired me to write about this. Basically, I wanted to draw out from my real personal experience, and from there, I tried making a fictional metaphor. I tried to remember some of the things I learned during my literature classes back in college. Oh, by the way, you can try to guess what I meant by the metaphors, I won't mind. 

Honestly, I am really not used to making short stories (although I remember that I love creating funny ones when I was still in primary school), but I do hope this qualifies as decent. It was my dream back then to create interesting short stories. I'll get some signals from here. Now, here it goes!


Short story entry title: "The Gemini" (play of words for The Gem and I)

/begin contest entry

“Did you know that a special gem that gives immense power to the bearer exist?” Legend has it that whoever holds this magical artifact allows the mortal to defeat even the most ferocious beast. It also provides vast fortitude that can withstand the songs of the sirens. No doubt that whoever possesses this gem is destined for greatness.

Now, I’ll tell you a secret, but promise me that you’ll never share this with anyone. Promise? 

*Breathes in* Well, I used to be the bearer of this gem. 

Yes it’s true. I’m not kidding.

But that was until this one seemingly fine night when I got deluded into thinking that it’s just one of those ordinary nights. I was left unguarded. A raging fiery storm found its way on our tribe. The people around was shaken. I decided to hold onto my gem, but I felt its power weaken. I wanted to carry on, so I called for the charm to work just like it used to, but my faith quickly waned upon finding out that the storm was summoned from within – a traitor of the tribe made pact with the beasts. With that, the winds easily swooped the gem from my hand. It vanished.

From then, I started to fear the beast, and found myself running away with the mere sight of them. The songs of sirens started to become unbearable. I was a hero no more. I felt like without the gem, I am nothing, and without it, I will never achieve greatness.

Yet suddenly, a golden wasp found its way on me. It danced gracefully above me before perching down on my shoulder. In silence, I closed my eyes. There was a blinding light, and right then, I realized it wasn’t the gem after all. It was ME.

/end contest entry


A brief explanation

The gem here resembles my self-esteem. At first I was basing my self-esteem from an external source (perhaps a projection). Through a life event, that external source crumbled, and I found myself lacking belief of myself. Then, slowly as we continue on with life, I'm finding my self-esteem once more, and this time I didn't need to depend on others for it. It was coming from the inside.


There you go! Thank you very much for reading! If this captured your interest, feel free to follow @anotsopopularkid. Don't forget to support others as well by checking out the tag #story-300words! Cheers! 

Sort:  

That's awesome!
I actually do myself some contest you should check it out.

Very nice story! Self-esteem truly does need to come from the inside. It is very accurate that we truly can't love others until we love ourselves. Everyone has their faults and weaknesses but in recognizing and accepting them, we can actually turn them into strengths. In the end, they are part of what makes us unique and who we are and thus, lovable to someone else. Nice story! Thanks for sharing!

@anotsopopularkid . I think you have a bit of Jean-Paul Satre in you. IThis would be a good text to give to school kids to see what their interprestion might be. I reckon some of them would think that this is about video games whilst others may just get it.

Yey! Thank you for the kind words. You have the power of bringing back rusty skills. I hope more and more steemian will participate!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68666.90
ETH 3251.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67