New Year Greeted By A Hurricane-Force Winds

in #storm6 years ago (edited)

First of all... A happy new year from me as well. I hope 2018 went by great for you and 2019 will be even better. At first, I thought I should post some shots of the fireworks I took in the night but since we have these crazy hurricane-force wind gusts today I thought I should add a little movie clip of this. Whenever we have severe weather I try to do my best to capture these conditions.
We haven't had a nice storm in here for quite some time. As you may be noticed before, I like all kind of severe weather. Despite weather officials released orange warnings( means weather is dangerous for humans to be outside ) for the coastal states, I intentionally put myself in danger and go directly to the seacoast. Sounds a little strange I know :D

The storm left me without power during the daytime but its restored now. Wind will probably soon rip off my driveway plastic roof, there are not many nails holding it together left anymore. Wind already damaged my neighbor's roof, ripping off the side panels. Overall many are without power all over the country and countless trees have fallen. Tallinn Airport is also having a hard time to land planes. Many of them won't even try and fly back to where they came from or to some other airport in another country. At all times I see planes circling the Tallinn skyscape, waiting for a window to land.

Loose roof panel
20190102_182535.jpg

I wanted to film at the seaside but I was caught in a traffic jam when a tree was across the road and unfortunately didn't make it to the beach before dark. The wind was SEVERE at the beach, I was having a hard time standing up. Not far from here on the island Aland( Finnish island ), 41.6 meters per second( 93.6 mph ) wind was recorded and it was all time high there.

Anyway enough talk. I mixed together a short 2 min video in the daytime with my DSLR camera of the conditions outside my house. You can also see my driveway roof being ripped loose.

All this craziness is still in full effect and is expected to weaken at some point in the night.




Untitled4.png

Sort:  

This was a great video for me to watch, our (natural gas) furnace is malfunctioning, pilot light won't stay lit so our house is cold. But this video reminded me that here in the valley in Oregon, we don't have it so bad even with no heat! Not even below freezing! I felt warmer watching this. That is some serious winter winds!

@carlgnash - I've had this before. Sound similar. The 'flame out sensor' is a small brass stick looking thing that sits near the flame and senses the heat to know the pilot light is working. It gets covered in soot and thinks the pilot light is out and automatically shuts off your gas supply to protect you from gas building up. If this is what it is in your case too, just remove the sensor and clean it with light grit sand paper back to clean brass and replace it. Hopefully this gets you warm again and saves a service call.
I'm no expert.. but something to try. Worked for me.

Oh, I hope you can get your furnance fixed soon.
Temperature is not actually awfully cold here. Its -5C (23F) but with that wind its about -20C (-10F) real feel, thats something. Im glad that the video made you feel warmer!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63195.68
ETH 2615.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74