Hide and Seek

in #stories6 years ago (edited)

image
You hide, I go seek.

I ran.

My life depended on it. I knew they were behind me. He was behind me.

He was the one who took me away from my parents, promising a life where we could have all the 'fun' in the world for eternity. It was just me and him at first but then he became power hungry and started to kidnap more children, taking them from their parents and convincing them to think they were just 'lost' and he 'found' them.

I was done.

My heart continued to race as I picked up on speed, cold sweat gushing out of my pores like a waterfall against the brisk night air. The bare soles of my feet were cut and bruised but I refused to stop even if they started to feel like they were stung by a swarm of bees.

No matter how far I got, I could still hear them. Their ear-piercing war cry echoed in my head. They want me. He wants me.

Then the worst had to happen.

I stopped and caught my breath as I stared helplessly at the end of the cliff towards the roaring waves of the sea below. I gulped.

"Well... It looks like fate is on my side."

Ignoring his comment, I closed my eyes and prayed for my life. I finally had the courage to turn around and tried not to cry as I looked at everyone's faces... So lifeless, as if deprived of free will to make choices for themselves. Right now, they are lifeless puppets of his.

"You know I'm not stopping here when I've come this far." I turned towards the boy in green. "If you come with us now, we'll all forget this and go back to our normal lives," He beckoned. "Normal? Is all of this normal to you?" I almost screamed, "I know well what normal is and taking these boys as captives is definitely not normal." He only gave a dark laugh, "Then, there's no other way..."

At his signal, the boys came after me with weapons in hand. Weapons that could not only hurt me but also themselves. He then joins the battlefield, forcing me onto the edge. The blade of his dagger came towards me. With nothing to protect myself against it, I did the unthinkable and used my left hand to prevent it from piercing my chest.

The sharp pain traveled from the very tips of my fingers to my arms, making it numb. I winced and felt warm liquid trickled down from the palm of my hand to the ground. Blood, and there were lots of it. I also found myself at the very edge of the cliff where one step could make me plummet to my doom. "Last. Chance." He hissed as he pushed the dagger with more force. My grip tightens.

"For the last time, Peter Pan." I stated, "No."

I let go of the blade and let myself fall.


I thought I was a goner.

With the amount of blood I lost and how I was at sea, I should have been eaten by sharks... Or worse, I could have been devoured by Tick-Tock! But... I miraculously survived!

I was taken in by a small group of men who called themselves pirates. They took care of me and treated my wounded hand... Well... As for that part, they couldn't save my hand so they severed it and replaced it with a hook. It gave me a pretty great nickname.

I worked for them and when I finally got to be captain, I vowed I'd return to Neverland and save the lost boys from Pan's clutches.

Now it was his turn to hide.


Hey guys! I've been inactive lately because I've been busy with church activities and we were also invited to play in the One Thing Conference held here in Cebu, Philippines so... We've been practicing almost everyday to perfect the songs for praise and worship. It was a really fun event where I learned a lot about the Lord! There was also this one band that led the worship team in which they sang a passage from the Bible and it was beautiful! Hopefully, we get to join next year o(^^)o.

This is the fashionable baller that also serves as the entrance pass.
image

Sort:  

What an interesting perspective from Captain Hook's point of view. Your stories always have a surprising twist. I'm glad you're back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98