You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Human Nature and "Adventures" in the Steemisphere

in #stopthepowerdown6 years ago (edited)

I respect your opinion @newageinv, so …

”I think that the initiative has been taken out proportions …”

… I’d like to be sure I understand to what you are referring here. Please let me know, as your time permits, as I would like to avoid any misunderstanding, as much as that is dependent upon me.

Overall, I support all that @aggroed said, with the major exception of any sort of endorsement, even as a last resort, of forking the blockchain in such a way as to exclude someone. The Witnesses here have a stewardship responsibility to do all in their power to hold the Steemisphere together. If they don’t like anyone, even Ned himself, there have to be alternative courses of action which do not involve threatening to take away someone’s “property.”

The moment we start allowing any sort of “majority rules” resulting in taking away the fruits of someone’s labor, I will be done here. That is a slippery slope and a path to disaster.

Sort:  

I will start by saying that I absolutely agree with you in that any move to fork anyone’s stake is a slippery slope of the beginning of the end for any blockchain. Regarding my comment, I think the real purpose by many of the top witnesses was to immutably post a type of commitment that they will not support a fork in an effort to stop the powerdown from Steemit. However, I think it has led to some thinking it was an implicit blackmail or the sorts. Again, I have read so much over the last 24 hours on this that is has been exhausting and we are probably at the point of forgetting the underlying issue which is how we move to a sustainable blockchain.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Okay, thank you for the clarification @newageinv.

"... we are probably at the point of forgetting the underlying issue which is how we move to a sustainable blockchain."

Long-term, I agree with you. This is the underlying challenge of all blockchains, given how new this asset class is.

Short-term and right in front of us is the issue I have addressed in my post. Ned initiated his "defensive move," in response to it.

As I have said elsewhere, intelligence and wisdom are not the same thing. As we watch this drama unfold, I hope those calmer and wiser prevail ...


P.S. Yes, I am fired up ... 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59