Every Post Needs a Picture

iStock-946239734.jpg

The format at SteemIt pretty much requires a picture with every post. I am not much of a graphic artist so creating the picture is a big chore.

Many people appear to grab pictures at random from the web. Some people stick a line of text on the picture to make it appear to be their property.

This methodology seems to fly on SteemIt, but it doesn't fly by me.

I thought about subscribing to a stock photo site. My average take on a post is about $0.03. I would lose money on each post if I tried that path.

So, to create this post, I grabbed the Free Image of the Week from iStockPhoto. This wonderful image of a young woman in a flower field is by Patricia Enciso. As this is the image of the week, people can download the high resolution of the picture for free.

The Free Image program was designed to highlight the works of different photographers. I suspect that having one's work highlighted as the image of the week is an honor. The important thing for me is that both the photographer and the model in the picture received their due for the picture which I can legally use in my scheme to scrape pennies off the steemit platform.

Sort:  

I have a similar dilemma sometimes. I’ve whipped out my phone just to snap a random picture of something loosely related once or twice. The royalty free sites are good too.

The funny thing is that I have about 30,000 pictures that I've taken while developing web sites.

My pictures are primarily about places and not about subjects; So they don't work well on SteemIt.

The real reason for making a post of the Image of the Week is just to encourage SteemIt contributors to think about rights. Understanding IP rights and knowledge about Microstock might help people be more professional when they contribute posts.

This is a very interesting article for me since I'm very new to Steemit. Thank you for sharing your tips here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46