You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Day So Far ~ Stinky the Cat Embellished My Camera Bag With A Hairball ~ Original Photography ~ And One Highly Original Cat ~

Not my precious keyboard! Yes, many many more bad places. I can only imagine your stomach-ability of things, I can't imagine being a CNA, though I'm quite thankful and honour you all for doing that job. We couldn't survive without you. Not anymore now though, ay?

Sort:  

Thank you! I stopped working as a CNA about 3 1/2 years ago. It's rough on your body and soul.

I loved all of my residents but I also had to experience losing them. For the most part, I knew it was for the best due to poor health but every now and then you'd lose someone in their right mind and seemingly decent health.

Although, I did have the ability to clean a person after they passed and I didn't think I'd be okay with that part before I had that job. Not all CNAs can do that. I did it for a few who could not along the way. I just looked at it as the last way I could pay respect to them.

I've got tendentious and bursitis in one of my shoulders and that pushed me to leave that type of work as well. I do miss the residents though. Even the ones who didn't behave well. lol

Many thought I should go on to be a nurse but they do way more paper work than I ever want to deal with.

That would be a very hard job indeed. I honor all those of you who do or used to do that job. Be it nurse or CNA. The grosser parts I could probably get used to, but the losing patients must be very very hard. I can only imagine. You would no doubt need an outlet for that, either talking to your hubby or others, or some other system. It would be very emotional for me.
Also nice you could do the final cleaning of the deceased. That is a great way to look at it, as an honor for them in the end of life. Also very hard to do, but wonderful that you could. It is like taking care of an ailing parent, you can finally give back a TINY part of what you have been given all your life.

I saw a movie not long ago called "Taking Chance", about bringing home our fallen soldiers. It was an amazing view of the honor and solemnity of the procedures people go through in one of the harshest realities of our world today. Very emotional movie to me. Even though I do not come from a military background. I guess we are all just human beans on this green earth.
I can also relate to the body thing. So many jobs are so hard on the body. Good you exited because of that. I imagine many CNA have bad backs and all the rest, from moving and lifting. Forestry and basketball took a bit of a toll on me over the years. One reason I no longer am in the woods. But whining doesn't help, so ONWARD to the fun of Steeemit and writing about it instead. Have a nice day. (Oops, I kind of wrote a tome here ( :

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57337.14
ETH 2342.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35