You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: From The Verge Of Becoming An Academic To Ending Up A Ghetto Launderer: Is Physical Disability A Stigma In Contemporary Nigeria?

in #stigma7 years ago

Oh, What a story! How can life be this cruel? The part that beats my imagination is the grade with which you graduated in this excerpt

How would one feel if after 5 pecuniary years in the University with a 2,1(4.48 CGPA on 5 scale) degree result grade, one finds oneself in this type of site?

That second class upper division grade, 4.48, is not a type of grade that was got though partying about. It was got through hard work and I knew from the first time we chatted that there was something very unique about you.

My parents are in the academia, both of them are retired lecturers/tutors from Delta State University, DELSU, Abraka . Hopefully, when I talk with them, regarding your case, they may be able to give me one or two pieces of advise that would help you.
Much respect, brother. I didn't have 4.48 CGPA. What I graduated with (B.Sc. Applied Biochemistry) was 3.36, M.Sc. Medical Biochemistry, 4.33 and now Ph.D Public Health, so far 8.13 on a 10 point scale. People with great destinies suffer a lot! If I tell you what I am passing through in the hands of my academic mentor here, you'll advise me to just pack my things and leave .

I like THINKING SOLUTIONS. A second way for you to tackle this challenge would be to apply immediately for admissions into a Masters degree program in any of the Universities in Europe, where tuition fee is very minimal and your healthcare needs will be properly taken care of. Think about this and get back to me. A major reason why I am suggesting this to you is that Nigerian universities in general are no longer very keen on employing graduate assistants (GAs). They prefer those who have at least a masters degree (Lecturer 2), better still those with PhDs (Lecturer 1). Always stay strong, @eurogee, because you are closer to your destiny now more than ever before. Cheers.

Sort:  

@maryfavour I have never felt this inspired. You such a counselor, ma'am.

I will definitely chat you up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59476.67
ETH 2299.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48