From The Verge Of Becoming An Academic To Ending Up A Ghetto Launderer: Is Physical Disability A Stigma In Contemporary Nigeria?

in #stigma7 years ago

Photo credit: personal photos 

Hello my steemian friends from all over the world. 

In my last post,  I made mention of how certain actions/experiences can result in a chain effects, such that things that have been overlooked for a long time suddenly  become a subject of discourse. Thus, my choice of topic is still a direct product of that unfortunate incident which instigated my interest to review Nigeria's public dispositions towards the cause of persons living with disabilities. 

In doing this, my primary aim is not actually drawing international sympathy but to engineer a healthy discourse amongst steemian Nigerians on this menace, which I trust would give impetus to attitudinal change in Nigeria. I also believe, however, that when a burden of emotional nature is shared by way of general debate, the victim tend to fare a lot better. This is my primary objective. 

Today, I want to share my experience in the hands of management of my Alma Mater, Federal University of Technology Owerri (FUTO) under the leadership of the former Vice-chancellor, Prof. C. C Asiabaka. 

From time immemorial...for as long as I can remember, my talent has always fallen in line with the academia. And as an undergraduate student, I had demonstrated my academic prowess so much that virtually every lecturer in my department became aware of this, and sometimes did request my assistance in their academic works. 

After my degree exams, I was invited to a meeting by the HOD during which he requested me to report back to my department after completing the compulsory sacrificial one year National Service,  and take up a job as a Graduate Assistant (GA). To me, it was like a dream come true. 

Photo credit: personal photo 

However, the future turn out of events constitute an eloquent proof that any form of physical disability, no matter how unserious, confers the victim a pariah status in the eyes of Nigeria's private and public administrators. 

Five months into National Service, I was involved in a fatal auto-crash and had to be flown to India for a life-saving surgery. And on my return from India, by which time I had started using crutches, I went back to FUTO to take up what I thought was an exclusive job. 

And behold, I was wrong! I met a new HOD in office. After going through my academic records, she asked me to write a letter to the Vice-chancellor through her office, narrating my ordeals and appeal for academic appointment on compassionate ground. On March 30th, 2012, I wrote VC through my department, and the letter reads in part... 

...following months of unsuccessful treatment in Nigeria, I was moved to India where I underwent hip replacement surgery at outrageous sum of N5.2milion Mayra. And thus exhausting the treasury — both in liquid cash and property — of my family meagre assets...

I continued in another verse... 

...I am in desperate need of love and attention. How would one feel if after 5 pecuniary years in the University with a 2,1(4.48 CGPA on 5 scale) degree result grade, one finds oneself in this type of site? Please be considerate to my cause and help save my career from the threat of premature termination...

And I concluded thus... 

...VC Sir, while it's true as the picture attached herewith suggests, that I use my left leg with that aid of a single crutch, it has no significant negative effect on my task performance ability. I am intellectually sound and considerably physically capable to comfortably assume academic responsibilities. And if given the chance, I will prove to the world that there is ability even in disability...

On May 3, 2012, in a reply letter by FUTO through the Office of the Registrar, one Adaeze N. Okany wrote... 

...I am directed to inform you that management is very sorry to hear of your plight and is willing to consider your plea. To that effect, you are invited to present yourself to the Director, University health Services, for medical examination...

Of course I did present myself and after routine examination, I was confirmed fit for academic responsibilities. However, my confirmation for academic post never came through as the VC sat on my file till end of his tenure. I made several efforts to no avail. After sometime, I had to establish a laundry business to be able to keep 'body and soul' together. I know this is not my destiny, that it doesn't befit me...sure, but man must start somewhere. That's the reality of life. 

One question I keep asking till today is: 'what could have gone wrong'? While I was physically fit I was promised employment on a platter of gold...but when the story changed after my accident, lending credence to the question...

'Is physical disability a stigma in contemporary Nigeria?'

Kindly UPVOTE and RESTEEM. 

Thanks for reading.

Yours Naija Boy, 

@eurogee

Thanks to @jodipamungkas and @gbenga for the badge. 


Sort:  

My dear brother, I continue to be greatly disturbed by the extremely large amounts of social and academic prejudice and injustices greatly practiced and experienced in this part of the world. A country and by extension a continent, where physical disability is treated with such immense hate and disdain. It saddens me time and time again to hear true-life experiences such as yours, which greatly illustrate and prove, just how far humans have failed with regards to upholding high and just moral standards. Your hardwork, diligence and sense of determination, which proves you to be a true fighter and warrior against all odds, trials and tribulations continue to inspire not only myself, but the community at large. You are a real and true motivational figure sir. All humans could definitely learn so much from you. Thank you so much my brother for not giving up, no matter what.

@blessing97 it is really disturbing my sister. The neglect is of gargantuan proportion. Thanks for your concern. Your expression is such a tonic to victims.

Oh, What a story! How can life be this cruel? The part that beats my imagination is the grade with which you graduated in this excerpt

How would one feel if after 5 pecuniary years in the University with a 2,1(4.48 CGPA on 5 scale) degree result grade, one finds oneself in this type of site?

That second class upper division grade, 4.48, is not a type of grade that was got though partying about. It was got through hard work and I knew from the first time we chatted that there was something very unique about you.

My parents are in the academia, both of them are retired lecturers/tutors from Delta State University, DELSU, Abraka . Hopefully, when I talk with them, regarding your case, they may be able to give me one or two pieces of advise that would help you.
Much respect, brother. I didn't have 4.48 CGPA. What I graduated with (B.Sc. Applied Biochemistry) was 3.36, M.Sc. Medical Biochemistry, 4.33 and now Ph.D Public Health, so far 8.13 on a 10 point scale. People with great destinies suffer a lot! If I tell you what I am passing through in the hands of my academic mentor here, you'll advise me to just pack my things and leave .

I like THINKING SOLUTIONS. A second way for you to tackle this challenge would be to apply immediately for admissions into a Masters degree program in any of the Universities in Europe, where tuition fee is very minimal and your healthcare needs will be properly taken care of. Think about this and get back to me. A major reason why I am suggesting this to you is that Nigerian universities in general are no longer very keen on employing graduate assistants (GAs). They prefer those who have at least a masters degree (Lecturer 2), better still those with PhDs (Lecturer 1). Always stay strong, @eurogee, because you are closer to your destiny now more than ever before. Cheers.

@maryfavour I have never felt this inspired. You such a counselor, ma'am.

I will definitely chat you up!

Oh men. This is touching 😓. Worry not, cos there's always a light @ the end of the tunnel. God will make a way.

Have actually moved on. Will throw up surprises. Thanks

I dont think physical disability should stigmatize anyone.you still have your brains and your kind heart.i must say it has not and will never stop all that God has purposed for you.

Never loose hope. Our help comes from God. He never fails. Look up on to Him. He will give you double for all your troubles.

We found ourselves where intelligence and skills is not considered but favouritism and who knows who.
Keep your hope alive my brother.

Thank you. This is succinct

Hello @eurogee

We have entered a dispensation where mind is now strongly valued above matter.

Just be strong and keep on doing what you are doing. I believe in you and I know that you will do great things.

@ogochukwu

@ogochukwu, great to have you speak on this. Of mind is valued above all but that is not obtainable in Nigeria

This is a Story that I am touched with.

To the question “Is physical disability a stigma in contemporary Nigeria?”

Well, I'll like to say, don't think in any curious way, life its self will interprete alot.


I'll come back for more


Right now, I'm becoming speechless remembering the 4.48CGPA, the unworthy VC wasted on his own door

Not wasted actually because I am yet to give up. Thank God Steemit is here. Thanks

Always on point bro

Awww
Am speechless

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63314.98
ETH 3233.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88