Sort:  

Great question, thanks for asking! At first I just made signs that said things like:

  • Being homeless is hard, caring isn't
  • Being homeless is not a character flaw, not caring about it is
  • Being homeless is not a moral failing, not caring about it is

The second two were a little shaming, but at least they made people think. I then branched off into some more creative signs.

  • I'm homeless not heartless, do we have anything in common?
  • When did we stop caring about each other? Please help
  • People are not disposable. Please help!

Not saying those are the greatest or anything. Not even close. I like "Being is homeless is hard, caring isn't," the best of all. I had other ones, but that gives you a general idea. At Christmas, I passed out a lot of signs that said:

  • Jesus was homeless, too. Merry Christmas.

Those were popular. At one point, I was giving certain people their choice of signs..it was my own little community improvement project. A popular choice, although not as effective was:

  • Another Day in Paradise

Tomorrow I'll write about one man who chose that sign. He is a disabled veteran who is missing his left foot. His name is Sarge, and he has quite a story.

Ooh this is awesome info. It should be in a post that you can point to over and over. I like the Jesus was homeless idea. Most people don't even think about that. It really should work year round but ... i dunno lol ... Jesus was homeless, too. Even he had sponsors... ... ??? Yeah I'll let you untangle that idea :)

At one point, the enormity of the problem had me so frustrated, I started making really snarky signs. I never handed those out, but they said things like, "I know you see me, it's okay to make eye-contact." Another one said, "Homelessness. It's not contagious."

Like I said, I didn't give those out.

You are a talented artist, do you have any suggestions? I'd love to hear them!

Oy. The eye contact thing. That's huge.

LoL I'll have a think on it. Probably have to think for some time. Cause ... I'd be using those tacky ones.

My art talent is largely an aimless hobby that only lives in bits and bytes.

Hmm but if you're wanting to add some fast, doodle-like design that might add some subliminal relaxation, I strongly suggest selecting some fast and easy Zentangle patterns.

You can check my Pintrest boards. www.pintrest.com/marillaanne

Hey, thanks for the tips! I'll check it out.

The eye-contact thing IS huge. It connects us, and helps us SEE each other. It is easier to ignore someone and forget they are another human being if you don't make eye-contact.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59017.22
ETH 2607.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45