@fulltimegeek's making a list, and checking it twice...

in #stewardsofgondor7 years ago

...gonna find out who's naughty and nice!

That's right Stewards, @fulltimegeek aka Lord of the Steems, has been handing out presents prior to the big day, but with so many chimneys to fall down, it's best to make sure your house is in order and your cookies and milk haven't gone stale.

This is a look at how the Stewards of Gondor have been keeping themselves busy over the past week, and some thoughts from myself on how this awesome time for Steemians and Stewards alike is working out...


gondor.png
I've been cracking myself up with this image so I hope it brings a smile to your face too!

For those who haven't heard the news, @fulltimegeek has seen into the future for Steemit and has delivered back a message for us all. A key component of the success of Steemit and the Blockchain it sits on, was the ability to 'pay it forward' and support the keen new arrivals by interacting as well as lifting them up and over the early obstacles.

No one person could do this alone. So with the power of delegation, dozens were chosen to act as Stewards of Steem Power, and to succeed in this quest as a team.

Below is a table showing some of the key interactions performed by these stewards over the past 7 days. The columns (ordered alphabetically) in the table are as follows:

Steward: Steem Username
Posts: Number of Top level posts in the past 7 days
Comments: Number of comments made in the past 7 days
Wit_v: Number of Witnesses voted for
Votes: Total number of votes made in the past 7 days
Unique_v: Total number of votes made to different authors in the past 7 days
Self_v: Number of self-votes made in the past 7 days
Down_v: Number of down-votes made in the past 7 days

NamePostsCommentsWit_vVotesUnique_vSelf_vDown_v
@abh12345926327888353110
@c0ff33a590272676650
@carlgnash260sircork17913910
@cecicastor2589579728500
@coincentrado18760287143161
@coolguy123169230113983410
@crimsonclad241followbtcnews106442820
@dakini5d312290680327550
@drakos99430204112108
@fabiyamada71651124110870
@flauwy141249184701849
@frankbacon45201165010
@goldendawne133151325418400
@greenrun7525336520210
@howtostartablog141401353021501
@ienrikex21355229020
@inquiringtimes3563018812957
@kubbyelizabeth914118702313100
@littleboy36662897437167
@luisucv343131678338231
@luming181467230101180
@lyndsaybowes103793068220002
@markwhittam32721697630
@marxrab121300577171120
@mikepm74111112620214820
@old-guy-photos1025532898570
@openmic0001149000
@orcheva6107101586410
@paulag4679200136521
@public-eye043511641815
@reko71052866035100
@stackin71069104432071
@taskmaster4450173622752370170
@teamhumble2427030584197150
@tommycordero11810989013
@votovzla64491055680
@wwf116901485180

The table can be copy/pasted into excel for sorting and further analysis
Data extracted from @arcange's SteemSQL DB at 10:30 am 11th December 2017

Stewards have written 5371 comments and cast 15837 up-votes - nice!


Star Stewards

@cecicastor and greenrun, both topping 500 comments for the past 70 day - hail keyboards!

@stackin, @coolguy123, and @crimsonclad all handing out over 1000 votes this past week - up-vote legends!

@coolguy123 - Master steward of goodwill to all with over 800 unique Steemians reached!

Thoughts on my own Stewardship so far

Having seen the table and weekly stats over on @fulltimegeek's latest blog, I'm happy to see my number of self-votes fall this past week. I've still been voting my top level posts (and 2 comments it seems!), but as my delegation doubled, I halved the vote weight.

With this extra power, I also chose to drop the weight over my votes on my auto-vote list, freeing up more power for the main task at hand, 'letting the ladder down' and seeing who's willing to take the risk in climbing it.

Those of us with 10,000 Steem Power delegation, have a vote of over $1 at present. I think that even half this amount is a nice lift for a budding young Steemian, and we can do this 140 times each week and be at full voting power at the end of 7 days. If you chose to half the amount again, you've got 280 votes to share - this, along with a supportive comment, could be enough to boost the energy and interest of the receiver into writing another blog. Success!

Stewards - How do you think you are carrying out your duties?

What other numbers could be added to help you perform better?

Budding Stewards - Do you think you've got what it takes? Would the numbers speak kindly of you?


Millions of thanks once again to the one and only @fulltimegeek - Steemit legend, and Lord of the Steem.

Cheers all!

Asher @abh12345

Sort:  

Fair play to all the people on this list who are doing such good work to help and promote the work going on.

Apart from littleboy who I have heard nothing good about on the site and looking at this post doesn't seem to be doing anything except harming other people's work?

For everybody else, keep it going and thanks.

I have some empathy for your view of @littleboy, but I have engaged with him in the past, and find he isn't just a flaggot throwing weight around. He's quite principled, and I reckon he does what he thinks is best for the platform - not just himself.

It can be difficult to see past appearances sometimes. The best way to find out what is behind the curtain, is to pull it open and go right on in.

Visit his blog, and see for yourself, rather than rely on rumors or gossip.

Thanks!

I end up doing a good chunk of my commenting from this @humanbot account. My total comment count is not up there with the users you highlighted even including the comments made with this account, but I am guessing my word count in comments is near the top :) I give good comment.

I know in your case @fulltimegeek has made a really wise decision as you are a terrific asset to the Steem blockchain from many standpoints. Proud to call you my friend.

Much love - Carl "Totally Not a Bot" Gnash

You do give fantastic comments Carl!

Thank you for these very kind words, I'm very flattered. It's been a pleasure to make contact and share knowledge and tips with yourself and many others here - with the added bonus of a now very bright looking future.

Thank you kindly!

Do we need a comment character count from main and alt accounts combined?

I doubt it would be a useful metric. I know for a fact it would be inflated in my case (and I suspect it would be for many users) because of the standard humanbot badge text that follows the comments I leave. I know many other users have pictures and standardized things they paste into comments as well. Maybe if HTML and Markdown elements were stripped out before the character count it would be more useful? In my case it would still be inflated. I leave a real comment in response to the post but then also paste in this standardized blurb after my comment (when awarding my badge of originality and upvoting to activate the vote trail):

[EXAMPLE]




@carlgnash from the @humanbot Human Certified Original Works Initiative has manually determined this post to be the original and truly creative work of the post author.

Learn more:
https://steemit.com/curation/@carlgnash/what-human-certified-original-works-means-to-me-a-totally-unofficial-mission-statement-from-just-one-person-in-a-decentralized

Thanks for being an original and creative content creator! You rock!

Thanks for the update! It's kinda awe-inspiring to see what you guys are getting done.

2017-12-12-PayoutMedianPosts30-EN.png

Since you guys were elected Stewards, the median payout has more than doubled. I can't prove you're the actual cause, but the trend changed at exactly the time you all were elected, and I suspect a direct causative link.

Mebbe you can investigate that better than can I.

Thanks!

Excellent idea!

I did promise not to bar chart my way through today, but I might have to take a look at this!

Thanks for stopping by!

Thank you for an informative and comprehensive run down @abh12345 . I only wish that @fulltimegeek had included an instruction manual with my Steam Power delegation because all I did was go

tenor.gif

And then spent ages hunting out what to do with it! But I am not a number, I am a free man and have chosen to keep doing what I was already because presumably it must have been kind of OK for someone to look at my stats and go "Let's give him some Steam Power he's doing OK" I kind of worked out myself Steemit needs new, creative exciting and different Blog posts to draw in outside audience and build the platform - and to that effect I have used what little resources I have to make what I think are reasonable posts - I mean they are not eloquent, quite often very basic and I need to work a lot on my graphic and video content - but it's unique to me and people seem to be liking it (or indulging an old man). Given I have a full time plus business to run, and a family to indulge - I'm not exactly time rich so upvoting and commenting is a forced push when I can fit it in (or just reduce my sleep time - it's highly overrated anyway) Anyway I'm doing my best to do a little bit for the platform, help out new content creators and encourage the smaller accounts to stick with it and grow - I'm enjoying finding new people to comment and upvote on and sharing my mediocre content to the masses - if I'm doing good or bad at least I'm taking part!

Hahaha!

I can relate to you and Jim!

Well as you know FTG is on the ball with his stats, and with this additional report it should be easy for him to spot who's not playing ball. In his vlog he said he's keen on 'real people', i guess your vlogs (which i've only just spotted sorry!) are a good way to prove this :)

Good luck with the great juggling act you are performing, great to see a fellow British steward on the books!

I recommend following the @welcoming account as a quick way to see the 'best' of the recent intro posts if you don't have time to have a good look around yourself at times. Cheers!

Thank you for the quick reply, and the tip on the @welcoming account - mostly I have been using the new tab for discovering content creators but it can be such a constant mass of posts it's really hard to find the quality content amongst the never ending stream of posts pulled from various internet sources or just randomly rebuilt from existing Steemit content. I do love the photo and picture challenge posts, but recently I have started seeing the same pictures popping up for challenges under different accounts - another obvious sneaky work around to build a post on someone else's work and of course pictures are hard to pick up by bots like Cheetah. I don't understand how Steemit works but what I am trying to do is to promote to people the concept of creating a blog based on themselves - their lives and their unique content - because we are all unique in our own way and just simply blogging what we are doing is creating something special and unique that will make a more varied and interesting post for others to find. To me this is the sort of content we should support, I have found and keep trying my best to support https://steemit.com/@glasstophat who is creating superb and different posts that are unique to her - but simply not getting the views and rewards that she deserves. I'm doing my best for this platform, I love it and I thank @old-guy-photos for dragging me kicking and screaming here from YouTube - it's taken me a long time to find my way but now I have it's a lovely place to be on the Internet - full of people who are forward thinking and creating real - incredible content.

Sorry, not so fast a response this time. Went to bed with a banging headache, still there a little.

Agree that this is the place to be right now, and I think we can still improve in many areas too.

Thanks for the comments, have a good day.

moderating and curation and witness stuff definitely take up a lot of my time, and I'm really behind on the commenting bit... BUT   it does feel absolutely awesome being able to drop dimes on a ton of great posts, and I know I'm making an (eensy weensy) dint in the pool for newer users as per some of the reports put out these past few weeks. I try to curate new and enthusiastic members out of the communities I help in, as well as people struggling for views in the 40-59 range.

Thanks for pulling the stats, the encouragement, and the shout-out~ <3

My pleasure with the stats, thanks for making them look so good! :D

That's the range to target for sure, i suspect we have a lot of dropouts in the low 50s. hmmm... stats Idea, thanks!

yes! I'd love to see the tipping point/rate of attrition for users who make it past the make-100-spam-accounts-that-never-post level, but just can't crack 55-60 and give up.

I've made a note in my little book of ideas :)

Engagement fallout - rep / price / time of year... what else could i evaluate do you think?

perhaps flags received/previous curies/ocd votes? not that either or should be a reason to stay or go, but I wonder at the psychological effects early on. I was Curied four times starting my first week, and it shot me to the fifties much earlier than I had equally grown in my understanding of the platform. I think if I hadn't come in with the expectation of never making money, that would have really rattled my brain.

I like! Thank you!

I did speak to someone who took a lot of curie votes early on, and it rattled their brain to suddenly be 'cast aside'. Interesting stuff!

feel's good to keep the momentum going of the steemit universe you know, i also love the discovery side of things, just wish the filtering was better on the steemit frontend.

just wish the filtering was better on the Steemit front-end.

Yes I think this is on most people's Christmas wishlist!

I use the same database to run a couple of queries that I think help cut some of the chaff. See Steward 'Nash's Curate like a boss one and two for details if you haven't already.

Thanks for stopping by Team!

oh perfect. cheers! :)

fecking numbers put me under pressure, I only had 4 posts over this 7 days :-(

Don't worry about post count! Comments and votes speak better for engagement imo.

But yes, blame the numbers, always blame the numbers!

Imagine i said something like 'i hate numbers' do ya think anyone would believe me???

I very much doubt it!

I deeply appreciate the kind of work you do. It isn't just about numbers, as you know, it's what the numbers mean.

I'm glad to see you here!

I made only two~ you're twice the woman I am! ;)

This is awesome and hope more people follow suit with this so that more and more Steemians feel the love.

That would be great! That's why we must all RS FTG's blog and raise awareness at every opportunity :D

I thought my activities is reduced, surprised to see the data is almost the same as last week. Wow. Thanks for sharing.

Yes it's a good feeling to see what you are doing is consistent each week. Bodes well i think!

You have done your work well. Excellent analysis. And yes, you're right, @fulltimegeek's support helps improve our platform. Appreciate the trust that he has given you.

Yes, we all do for sure. It's a courageous and selfless act, and why his name will live long in the history of Steemit.

'hey, remember that guy who handed out all his Steem Power for the good of the platform?'

'Ahh, you mean @fulltimegeek? Yeah, what a legend!' :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63350.70
ETH 2595.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85