Sort:  

Cleaning up the space will be a big project judging by the number of foreign objects we've transported so far to that place.

I've got dibs on Tesla.

I have seen plenty of projects, but I honestly don't know which ones will be actually achieved. The future will tell us :)

I guess they don't realized the long effect then? Earth is already in big trouble for being so polluted, now even in the space they throw there garbages, oh men!

Well, this is the case since the early days of humans going to space. But now, we know about that and people design projects to clean up space. We may hopefully end up with a solution soon or later :)

Hope so or else we will have a debris rain also hahaha :) just wanted to laugh to make it light, since life is already complicated hehehe. Thank u so much for the reply, steem on!

There are many projects for clearing up space debris. For now it's one launch for each debris, but I am thinking that more versatile spacecraft could take on more than one mission. An optimized mission plan with the least DeltaV budget could be calculated by computers, making one launch for 3-4..n debris.

@alexdory, how effective are the various projects tasked with the clearance of space debris being?

None for now as far as I know :D
But they are in tests and advanced planning. The effectiveness should be 100%, the objects are being tracked and their position is well known so it shouldn't be that hard. I would say it's the same chance of a vehicle successfully docking with the ISS.

Ok, let's see how they'd pull that off. Thank you.,

I have read many proposals, but I am actually wondering which one will be realized at the end of the day. As the problem is real and may be (somehow) a threat at some point (at least for the lifetime of the useful satellites), I hope to see the solution implemented during my lifetime.

Yes, me too and I honestly can't give you an estimate because I don't think there is real interest in those projects right now. Let's hope that at least a proof of concept launch will be done in 2023. E.deorbit made by ESA is one of the real options.

"Holger Krag of the European Space Agency states that as of 2017 there is no binding international regulatory framework with no progress occurring at the respective UN body in Vienna."

Nothing beats a workable solution even if it's on a microscopic scale.

I agree. We probably need either time until the situation becomes really tough, or a great person :)

Because I am afraid a collision seems imminent between satellites in the future if nothing is done about it.

I think we still have time for that. But not too sure. You seem to know more than me with respect to space stuff :D

Just an enthusiast :)

An enthusiast who has time :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.83
ETH 2464.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43