You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Announced STEMGeeks, a new Steem Engine Tribe!

in #stem5 years ago (edited)

I think the idea is great but we already have a Stem community, if this is no cooperation...then how far will there be cooperation? Let's be clear a tag does not make an article scientific or good researched. Communities like steemStem need authors. So will it be possible to use both tags and how will this affect the curation? (@lemouth, @stemgeeks)

If your really scientific you should both know that community splits harm a network. If you end up with two small subnetworks you have possibly quartered the value of the current STEM community on Steem. We are at a vulnerable state where we need union more than ever. Tribes are great if you are a hundred million MAU network, Steemit so far has about 3000 daily active users and 17k MAU, let's keep them a community.

Sort:  

SteemStem almost completely science-focused, we are not.

I am in discussions with SteemSTEM though as I see their contributions valuable and don't see them as competition or "us or them".

This is not a community split, it's empowering a subset of the larger community much like how communities are planned by Steemit Inc.

/r/science on Reddit doesn't harm Reddit but empowers users who want to talk about science without having to see what you had for lunch yesterday.

As I already said elsewhere, concerning SteemSTEM curation and goals, nothing will change. I do not see why we should talk about community splitting and things like that. This makes no sense to me. There is no rule asking people to chose. At least not that I know.

I agree 100%, I see no reason why this is "us or them" mentality. There will be overlap, but I hope both thrive and benefit from more attention and if we are lucky more new faces.

From what I hear is there will be a collaboration between both communities.

Do you believe? I do not know, but I think that if there was a collaboration between the two I would not be writing idiots about steemSTEM focusing more on science than on technology. So what does the "T" stand for? and what does the word science encompass?

but steemSTEM will not make these mistakes when saying this kind of thing. :D

It is fairly common for people to associate STEM with mostly Science and ignore the other elements. I personally am more T focused but I all four interest me.

You know who you remind me of, Justineh?

Thank you I'm honored.

As long as your content meets the standards of steemSTEM it could be well seen by curators, regardless of the label you use @lauch3d

ok thx (@steemitqa). @carloserp-2000 wouldn't this be for both highly ineffective? It's like when you write an article, use a bid-bot first and then afterwards let steemSTEM curate, this decreases their curation rewards. One of them will always come last. And if you check the articles for sources and correctness, it takes some time.

We do not care much about curation rewards... What matters is what we promote and to support the authors.

totally agree with what @lemouth just said. This will change nothing, SteemSTEM will continue working as it has been doing for a long time, with great authors in different languages, always promoting science in STEEM

I hope you are right. It was never the intention to disrupt SteemSTEM. I just wanted a broader audience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97