You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemWorld ~ Weekly Support ~ #31

in #steemworld5 years ago

Hello there.

Fist of all, I thank you for all your hard work! SteemWorld is a marvelous tool!

But I have a question. Yesterday I tried changing my Master Key using SteemWorld + Steem Connect and I always encountered an error. SteemConnect never accepted the command. Do you know why?

I had to change it through SteemIt.com

Sort:  

If SteemConnect shows the 'Continue' button after starting the process on SteemWorld, the operation was checked on their end and should be valid. Did there pop up any error message on SteemConnect? Is it even possible to broadcast operations with SC that require the owner key? I'm not sure about that...

Yes, the error happened after trying to confirm the operation in Steem Connect. Maybe Steem Connect needs my Owner Keys Permissions before doing such a change?

I confirm this @steemchiller... it might be the key being parsed incorrectly as the wrong type. They should not be able to work with a master key if I am not mistaken. Only owner, active, etc...

Although I got (in the past) the same problem sometimes changing the recovery account, and after using directly the correct key, it works.

Ah, I think I get it... So, I should have used my Owner Key instead? And not the Master Key?

Supposedly the Master key should never be used... as it derivates ANY other keys. So basically... anyone with it has the same or even more power as the owner key.

This is "one" of the reasons why Steemit is now separating the steem wallet thing... so people understand that they should use the voting key instead of the master key.

Master key should never exist in my view... And it is something "deprecated" on the newer (same type of) blockchains as the EOS for example. Simply because it goes against the security methods of changing ownership of actions. If you can derivate master key from owner key, and vice versa.. then owner key is the master key and the master key is all keys.

It's a security problem that STEEM has to solve in the future... not a big deal... but something EOS has already resolved.

More to come! I guess.

Ah, thanks for the explanation. :-)

Well, now it's done... and my keys are changed. Next time, I'll be sure to use only the Owner Key.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65133.17
ETH 3480.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52