SteemWorld ~ Weekly Support ~ #5

in #steemworld6 years ago (edited)

[EN]


This post is intended to cover the server costs for SteemWorld.org and to enable me to continue my development in the future.

In case you missed the first part:
SteemWorld ~ Weekly Support ~ #1

[DE]


Dieser Post ist dafür gedacht die Serverkosten für SteemWorld.org zu decken und mir in Zukunft weitere Entwicklungen zu ermöglichen.

Falls du den ersten Teil verpasst haben solltest:
SteemWorld ~ Weekly Support ~ #1

What a week

It's hard for me to stay positive in these days. I spend nearly all of my time for the development on SteemWorld and am hardly able to pay the rent for my apartment this month. I don't want to send my collected STEEM from my recent posts to an exchange at current price levels and I'm still waiting for a price reversal to at least 1.35 USD.

The next server bills are already waiting for me in the coming weeks and I'm not sure if I can do this all for much longer. I need to change my strategy so that I'm prepared for whatever will happen in future. Time spent for posting is time not spent for working on SteemWorld, but if there is no other way I may do so. I'm no fan of living from donations from other people because that is no reliable income. I won't pay the required hardware for a witness node with money that is not mine. But don't mind, this is my problem and I will find a solution.

As always, it was a very busy week. There hasn't been a single weekend in the past months for me, but I still hope that my work will pay out on some day in future. For now I hope that BTC can hold support at the current prices and we don't need to test the 6000 again. At least it looks not too bad today:


New features

I have been tweaking many things in my code during the week and I'm still not done with it. That's the reason why my weekly post comes a bit later this time and I need to keep it really short today. Most of the things I'm currently working on are happening in background, but I can show you a few shots of the latest UI changes here:


Liquid STEEM in Post Summary and Coming Author Rewards


SBD Debt Ratio / Liquid STEEM Ratio in Steem Info tab

The Liquid STEEM Ratio (if you should find a better name for it, please tell me) is derived from the SBD Debt Ratio. It shows us how much of a post's SBD payout we will receive as liquid STEEM, currently ~ 78% :


Only relevant columns in rewards tables

If you are an author, not a witness and not receiving beneficiary rewards, it looks like:


If you are a witness and not receiving beneficiary rewards (example top witness @gtg):


If you are not a witness but you are receiving beneficiary rewards (example @dtube):


If you are an author and witness and you are receiving beneficiary rewards, SteemWorld will collapse and you will directly go to hell my friend, because you are earning way too much STEEM. Just kidding, in that case the Benef. SP column will be hidden until I've found a solution for the non existing space. A donation might motivate me to find it faster... 😁


New settings for the 'Account Info on hover' behaviour


Reminder for SteemWorld updates

This is an important change because I realized that older browsers and even many modern mobile ones do not load the modified HTML, JS and CSS on each page visit after I made changes to the site. Especially mobile devices are caching badly to improve battery life and are just ignoring the instructions coming from my server.

Don't worry, even if I update the site on a daily basis I won't always set it to a new version as long as there is no good reason for it.


Let's come to an end...

There are many more things I could talk about here but most of them are more technically nature and are happening in background. If you should consider becoming a developer please take time for the decision and really think about what it would mean for you and your life. Programmers will always have more problems than 'normal' human beings can ever imagine... 😉

Links


EN  |  What is SteemWorld?
-> Welcome to SteemWorld.org!

DE  |  Was ist SteemWorld?
-> Willkommen auf SteemWorld.org!

Thank you for supporting my work!


Positive thoughts create a positive world. It all begins with connecting our thoughts with emotions. We are the creators of our world.

Much Love,

Sort:  

Thank you for this post @steemchiller.

SteemWorld is a very positive tool for Steemians.....here's hoping you receive the needed funds to keep it going.

Roman Maxim/Principle......He is a winner who perseveres.

Kind Regards,

bleujay/bentleycapital.

I have found the SteemWorld tool to be one of the most useful tools for monitoring my activity on the STEEM blockchain. The information the tool contains is priceless.

The is why I am pleased to give you a 100% upvote and since my SP is not great, I used OnlyProfitBot, SmartSteem, and UpMe bidbots to increase the value of your weekly post. I am happy to support the development of such a fine tool in hopes of keeping its use free.

Have a great weekend!
Steem on,
Mike

Steemworld.org is very useful tool thank you for developing it. 🤗

The is why I am pleased to give you a 100% upvote and since my SP is not great, I used OnlyProfitBot, SmartSteem, and UpMe bidbots to increase the value of your weekly post.

I think it would be more efficient to donate funds directly to @steemchiller rather than paying for upvotes.

Totally agree with you. SteemWorld is the best tool for monitoring the STEEM blockchain activity.

Wow, Amazing tool to monitor daily basis Thanks keep it up !!

100% UPVOTED !!

thanks for build it

One more SBI share for you my friend @steemchiller, since my voting weight is nothing. I am sure that you will get better thing from your supporter. Wish you all the best!

steemchiller2.png

This post has received a 4.74 % upvote from @boomerang.

Thank you for all the work you put into SteemWorld. It is greatly appreciated!

This post has received a 4.74 % upvote from @boomerang.

@steemchiller 100% upvote , great website and thanks for the help.

Steem will not recover very soon in my opinion as an analyst. Maybe you need to start posting smaller updates in two weekly updates. As you can see the community is on your side and I don't understand why steemit inc is not helping you here with a donation or SP delegation...

Holy shit, support at 7250 has been broken. I'm done. Started powering down yesterday for this case, so that I can pay part of my bills in a week. I'm wondering if I should cash out my collected STEEM now...

Read my little update on my last post. The next levels to watch for a big bounce are 6825, 6666 and 6400... If this is indeed already white wave 2, then white wave 3 is next! Target at least 10800.

You could do a partial cash out. In two weeks it might be all good again.

We're below all of those levels. What's your next guess of a bounce number?

Read my newest update post on my blog.

Thanks. Crash catchers set at 3000

We're below all of
Those levels. What's your next guess
Of a bounce number?

                 - improv


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Ha. Goodness.
Inadvertent. And yet I keep getting them. I guess I like writing 17 syllable comments.

I write theese haikus unintentionally all the time as well :D it's weird.

We have dialects
that tend to construct phrases
with odd syllables

Yeah, but does steemit inc still exist? It seems to me that we are on a ship without crew.

They are posting their progress every week. That is a lot better than it used to be..

Thanks for your answer. Can you be so kind to give me the regarding link to their postings?

Thank you so much for your work. Keep on doing that! Here is a 100% Upvote for you 👍

Absolutely the best thing going on Steemit, @steemchiller!

The little pop-up post got me here, and I can't help but think it will be more effective than having to click on the link at the top while the site is loading.

What is amazing and beautiful is that you are developing this all on your own and yet there are constant updates and improvements, and always new things happening. AND you find time to create these update posts. AND you communicate with your users! Contrast that with STINC where it seems to take MONTHS to change the font color of one tiny field, or something.

It is baffling to me that STINC hasn't pitched some support to you, even in the form of a delegation or something. Hey @ned, @andrarchy and co.! Is there some reason you're not supporting this project... which thousands of users are actively benefiting from; which is a great example of a highly USABLE UI; which is constantly under dynamic development?

Come on folks! There's more to Steemit "development" than having a bunch of people eternally talking about updates to their White Paper without actually having a functioning PRODUCT in front of people! Time to step up to the plate here and support something that is more than a theory and a plan!

Sorry to "go off" on your post @steemchiller, but it really makes me angry that you're not getting more support from "higher up!"

Thanks for your kind words! I guess it is difficult for @ned and Steemit in general to support something that is not open source.

All transactions are being signed locally on the site with the help of Steem.js (a great open source Steemit development) and I don't even store any private keys in the local browser cache but one can't see how I do it exactly (since SteemWorld is not open source and the code is hardly readable in minified form). That could be a major reason for not getting supported by Steemit.

As soon as I can pay the registration fee for SteemConnect I will add the possibility for users to use it instead of my own solution, so that more trust in my product will be achieved.

Well said @curatorcat! I use @steemchiller's site on a minute to minute basis - EVERY SINGLE DAY!!!! and I really WOULD be lost without it! To be honest though, I did not realise until I also received the pop up and came to this post, that it was a one man show! :(

The lack of support (by those that can WELL BLOODY AFFORD IT) for SO MANY of the FUNDAMENTAL and PIVOTAL people of this platform is honestly NOTHING short of fncking SHOCKING!!!!!!!!!!!

Why is it so DIFFICULT for SO MANY, to grasp the concept of "team work"?!?!?!?!?!?!?!!!!!!!!!!

As I said in my comment on this post, I will dedicate whatever I can on a permanent basis to @steemchiller, because I make use of the service DAILY and it would be REALLY good form, to see the rest of the regular users of the site do precisely the same! - Not just upvote this post, but put forward some consistent support!

I could literally scream with frustration at the lack of foresight and selfishness of so many on this platform!!!!!! I have over 250 people on an autoupvote list here on Steemit and YES, I engage with 90% of them on a consistent basis - WHY can others (who are worth a SH!T load more than me) not do even an inch of the same?????

The mind boggles....

Totally right. I am convinced Stinc doesnt care at all about Steemit.

They are very wrapped up in SMTs, it seems. I'm sure they care about the price of Steem, but I'm not sure how much they care about Steemit, the front end.

Very much correct! In my view, they dont care much about the front end, at all!

I agree with you guys. I think Steemit is just a proof-of-concept and they are working on building a developer centric platform. If that is true, then I guess I'll be happy enough as I see a ton of apps coming on right now.

I hope steem prices make us happy.

For the love of everything good, @steemchiller you HAVE TO implement a premium version. Give me ONE single thing that I am "paying" for with the premium and I will throw my steem at you. The service you have created is the most useful of all the steem-centric sites I have come across in all my searching and we as a "community" absolutely must ensure you are able to continue to provide this invaluable resource to us all. I have your site up in a tab all day long so it is constantly used by me.

I have sent you my steem payment for this month and last month's usage, 2 steem per month. I honestly hope everyone will do the same.

NEW TAG!! #paysteemchiller

Thanks for the great support!

fantastic notification to remind people to give you some support. Love it.

Can you help round up some support for him? This site is seriously useful to SOOOO many people but it is like most think of it as a part of SteemInc. We need more people with a wide reach to preach the greatness of the site.

so I did a video today as promised, lets hope it gets some more support for @steemchiller

sure. watch this space. i made videos in the past promoting this. time for an update. I would gladly help and when he sets up a witness server I will be the first to vote too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62777.23
ETH 3059.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81