SteemWorld ~ Weekly Support ~ #34

in #steemworld5 years ago

[EN]


This post is intended to cover the server costs for SteemWorld.org and to enable me to continue my development in the future.

In case you missed the first part:
SteemWorld ~ Weekly Support ~ #1

[DE]


Dieser Post ist dafür gedacht die Serverkosten für SteemWorld.org zu decken und mir in Zukunft weitere Entwicklungen zu ermöglichen.

Falls du den ersten Teil verpasst haben solltest:
SteemWorld ~ Weekly Support ~ #1

Updates


I've been deeply focused on my SDS (Steem Data Service) development lately and am currently tweaking and trying out different setups. A few days ago I installed a new data server, which will be used to deliver the already parsed blocks and block indices in a fast and easy way to other SDS instances.

The required time for planing/developing the services, parsing, compressing the blocks (own compression + xz) and testing the resulting data is massive, but I'm making good progress. I changed the number of blocks per file from 100,000 to 10,000, because it's easier to provide/xz the updates in smaller block archives. When an instance is 30,000 blocks behind, it only needs to download the latest three block archives, update the block indices and voila, we are nearly there ;)

There were a number of lessons to be learned and I even needed to re-compress all blocks again (which sucks)², but at least I now have an external solution for faster exchanging the data, so that from now on I can make all testing on a dedicated machine instead of my local one.


My recent morning routine looks like:

  • Go SteemWorld.
  • See VP is at 100%.
  • No time to read any posts.
  • Go Feed and make votes in 'Chaos Mode'.

Please forgive me... ^^


Don't let anybody distract you from achieving your goals!
Diving deep into blocks again...

Have a 'mooning' week!

Caching Posting/Memo Keys


As I wrote in my last post:

The Posting/Memo Keys are now being cached in your browser's local storage (encrypted), so that you don't need to enter them again after reloading the site. All 'higher' keys are never being cached anywhere and I improved the checking routine in the Input Dialog to make sure that people don't use their Owner/Active Key in places where only the Posting Key is required.

If you don't want to use the new caching feature, there is now a new option to be found in Settings:

In the making

   ( A )


  • Responsive Design for mobile devices
  • Post Viewer and Editor
  • Steem Data Service (SDS)
  • Theme Builder
  • Starting a witness node

   ( B )


  • Different views, no limit in the Posts Overview (requires SDS)
  • Account Operations without limits, custom date ranges and filters, jump to day x (requires SDS)
  • Exact (separated SP, STEEM and SBD) All Time Rewards in the Stats Section (requires SDS)
  • Rewards Overview Tool with searching capabilites (requires SDS)

   ( C )


  • RC costs calculation
  • Downloadable SteemWorld that can be run locally
  • More details in Coming Rewards (number of posts/comments, pie charts?, filters?)

Links


EN  |  What is SteemWorld?
-> Welcome to SteemWorld.org!

DE  |  Was ist SteemWorld?
-> Willkommen auf SteemWorld.org!

Thank you for supporting my work!


Positive thoughts create a positive world. It all begins with connecting our thoughts with emotions. What we focus on is what becomes powerful. We are the creators of our world.

Much love,

Sort:  
Loading...

You never need to be forgiven buddy! Thanks for all you do 😊❤️

I actually used a new feature a few days ago...and it reminded me of how this site is growing...maybe you will soon need someone to write a Help file so as to explain all that can be done (in simple terms for the non-coders among us).

I think this is the first time I have not been able to multiple-vote for you in the comment section!

Hi @steemchiller,
The key caching feature really likes me and saves me from going to where I have them stored to copy/paste them, thanks!
It's hard for those we are busy in a daily basis to read and curate posts, I'm totally with you.
My support and best wishes for your work, keep on! your doing really nice, wish I had more resources to support you as you deserve.
Have a nice weekend
Hugs

Sometimes there is just not enough time @steemchiller, and that's really OK... you can't be all things at all time. I have been working for myself for almost 20 years, so I know how it goes when there is just not enough time to do everything you want.

SteemWorld remains one of the very best things about our ecosystem!

Amazing work. Thank you.
My clearest resteem of the week.

WE immer kann ich das meiste was du mir erzaehlst nicht verstehen aber ich bin sehr froh dass du ein tool fuer uns baust das ich verstehen kann LOL

I love your very human morning routine, ahahhahhah! ;)

Go ahead with your SDS: I can't wait to see it working as you have dreamed!
Thanks for implementing memo key caching: it's useful!

A huge hug
@amico

Keep this going brother, you are on the right path

Hi,

Could you update this. The numbers are wrong. The 198.735 Mvest is in reality STEEM.

Thanks for the hint! Indeed it's STEEM and I will remove the whole 'Total Vesting Fund' row, because the sum is already being displayed in the 'Total Vesting Shares' row.

thumbsup For this great work. Looking out for the Desktop Version.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61641.91
ETH 2997.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.45