SteemWorld ~ Weekly Support ~ #20

in #steemworld5 years ago (edited)

[EN]


This post is intended to cover the server costs for SteemWorld.org and to enable me to continue my development in the future.

In case you missed the first part:
SteemWorld ~ Weekly Support ~ #1

[DE]


Dieser Post ist dafür gedacht die Serverkosten für SteemWorld.org zu decken und mir in Zukunft weitere Entwicklungen zu ermöglichen.

Falls du den ersten Teil verpasst haben solltest:
SteemWorld ~ Weekly Support ~ #1

Updates


Account Recovery Tool


Starting an account recovery and confirming incoming recovery requests can now be done directly on SteemWorld in Tools -> Account Recovery:


Initiating The Account Recovery



Confirming The Request


After sending the recovery request the account that wants to be recovered needs to confirm the request by providing a recently active public owner key:


When confirming the request by clicking on the Recover Account button, there are two keys required for signing the new transaction:

  1. The private owner key for the provided New Public Owner Key
  2. The private owner key for the provided Recent Public Owner Key

This ensures that the account has access to the new private owner key and the recent one (which has been active at some point in the last 30 days). Even if someone changed your master key, you can always take back control over your account with a recently active private owner key (Steem nodes store them in a 'recent owner history'), but you need to recover your account within 30 days.

After the recovery request has been confirmed, the recovered account does not have any working private posting, active or memo keys. Therefore you need to change the master password afterwards.

I don't have time to explain all the details involved here, but I will make an extra post on this topic in future. Hopefully, the existing explanation helps a bit to understand the basics of the account recovery process. Of course, if you should need help with the account recovery, you can always contact me here.


Change Password Tool


Changing the master key for our account can now be done in Tools -> Change Password:


Tools Better Explained


I added some explanations for a few tools, so that they are a bit more self-explanatory for newbies and the not so technical experienced users:


Master keys are bound to the name of an account and all private and public keys are derived from the master key, therefore you can't use existing public keys from a different account for any other one (private keys will differ). I added a warning in the Account Creator Tool, so that no one will use existing public keys from a different account here:



Changing The Recovery Account


As I mentioned in my last post, it is now possible to change the Recovery Account for our account on SteemWorld:

I just want to add a missing information here:

For security reasons it takes 30 days until the change will take place, therefore the displayed recovery account does not switch to the new one immediately.


Restyling the Account Operations Overview


I want to change a few things and bring some colors into the operations overview. Of course, it's not easy to make something look better that our eyes are already used to, but I think it will begin to feel good after some time ;)

I'm still playing around (maybe I will choose a different font, which is just a tiny bit bigger than the current one), so this may not represent the final state...


In case you can't live with the colors, you can deactivate them in Settings -> Layout -> Colorize Operation Titles:


Donations And Top Supporters


As some of you have already noticed, there is a new button in the top left of the page:

Since it is currently really hard for me to survive these times of low crypto prices, I needed to do something about it. By clicking on the button the following dialog will show up:


I have already received a few donations and I am very thankful for each of them! In the coming days/weeks I will start to make a regular post, which contains a list of my all time top supporters (donations and votes). Thank you very much for helping me out!

In the making


  • ...
  • Post Viewer & Editor
  • Web service for loading the data in a more efficient way and to enable me to add many cool new features in future
  • Different views / no limit in the posts overview
  • Details for coming rewards (number of posts/comments, maybe a pie chart)
  • Improved coming curation rewards overview
  • RC costs calculation

Links


EN  |  What is SteemWorld?
-> Welcome to SteemWorld.org!

DE  |  Was ist SteemWorld?
-> Willkommen auf SteemWorld.org!

Thank you for supporting my work!


Positive thoughts create a positive world. It all begins with connecting our thoughts with emotions. What we focus on is what becomes powerful. We are the creators of our world.

Much love,

Sort:  

Steemchiller, you are doing such a great job!

Have you considered using @fundition for your funding ?

As @justinw says, it's good for everybody around this platform to also have income streams which do not depend on selling steem in the market (thus creating downward price pressure).

Could we look into setting up a donation system based on fiat or other cryptos perhaps ?

ǝɹǝɥ sɐʍ ɹoʇɐɹnƆ pɐW ǝɥ┴

Agreed, I am second to @paulag.

Super! Wer Dein Tool kennt weiß, was man unter einer "Eierlegenden Wollmilchsau" versteht!! ;-)

Awesome as always, @steemchiller.

More and more functionality brought to steemworld. Virtually everything that anyone could want is here, or planning to be here. I'm not sure if you're intending to provide the ability to originate posts on steemworld when you say post viewer (which it seems like there is already the ability to see the content of a post in full) and post edit, but if that's what you mean, there basically won't be a need to go anywhere to do anything other than on Steemworld. :)

Regardless of that, all the updates are welcome, and so is all the attention to detail. I hope those of us who regularly use can continue to support you, and maybe find ways to do it better.

I personally wouldn't mind a larger font, but it's good as is, and the colors are helping to identify different types of transactions as far as I'm concerned, so well done on that.

Thanks for your great feedback, @glenalbrethsen!

I'm not sure if you're intending to provide the ability to originate posts on steemworld ...

Yes, that's exactly what the Post Editor will enable us to do ;)
I'm not sure when it is ready to be used, but I guess it will already come in a few weeks.

Hi @steemchiller,

I'm quite sensitive about colors but I think you've chosen them smartly, identifying comments from rewards is very useful and seemless to me. Would be nice to give them a distinctive colour for different rewards type or maybe this would overload our view.
About the tool for keys management I think it's awesome and will be very useful for all steemians specially those new.

Thanks so much for your efforts, hope I can soon donate more.

Best regards :)

Yes, I want to keep SteemWorld free and like to help taking it to the next level,

Awesome work @steemchiller. I use steemworld.org every day thanks for all your hard work.

Super Erweiterung!

Danke für deine kontinuierliche Hingabe :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, @steemchiller, I'm a regular user of steemworld and have donated before.

I'm currently working on a project to detect small accounts which positively impact the steem ecosystem and should deserve support. I really like the vote CSI feature on your site and was wondering if there's a fine-tuned algorithm I could use in my project?

The calculation of the CSI is much simpler than many people may think and it's not optimized yet (Many other things on my list currently).

It's only taking votes of the last 7 days into account and the range should be at least 14 days or even a month. I will release some details about it in the coming weeks.


Some basics I can tell you:

  • Think of it like a score ( 1 x 100% = 100 points for example )
  • 10 x 100% = 1000 points per day possible
  • Self-votes decrease the score
  • Voting the same accounts again increases the score less than it would to vote other accounts
  • Use a defined divider to make the resulting score smaller (otherwise the result would in some cases be > 10000)

Hi, thanks for the explanation. I'll likely implement something similar. I'll probably just start off with the self-vote pct to begin with just to keep things simple. I think vote CSI would be a pretty cool thing to have standardised across steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88