SteemWorld Update ~ Surviving The Bear Market

in #steemworld5 years ago (edited)

Update


As I (SteemWorld) cannot survive for much longer with the given STEEM price, I need to take action now. So, I started a steemd instance (with MIRA enabled) on my dedicated machine and will enable my witness in the coming days. I don't want to be an auto-witness out of a pre-packaged box, so I decided to build all things that I need myself.

I know that MIRA might not (yet) be the way to go for a witness, because replay times take a bit over 3 days (in my case), but I want to use it anyway. In any case, I want to use MIRA in the future for the SteemWorld back-end, so I think it's a good idea to work with and experience its behaviour now already. Learning by doing is always the best way for me.

If I should miss blocks or experience any difficulties while running it on that (just slightly busy) machine, I will think about other solutions. Fact is, I cannot afford an additional server, so it has to work.

The good thing is, that I now can receive blocks and other data that I need for the SteemWorld databases directly from localhost and don't need to rely on other nodes anymore. In my tests it worked perfectly (so fast!) so far and I begin to love this thing called 'MIRA' :)

As I saw recently, Steemit has been working on a Rewards API/Plugin for steemd and maybe I can use this in future to improve the loading times for the coming rewards. Being able to see the coming curation rewards with a click in a few seconds? Exciting times ahead!

Maybe I can even build my own plugins for steemd, so that the front-end devs out there don't need to reinvent the wheel again and again... Maybe I can implement my planned SDS (at least partially) directly inside the node, so that we could use a compressed but at the same time fast readable and writable block_log...

I'm broke, but at the same time I am very fascinated about the new possibilities :)

More news to come soon.

Steem On!

Sort:  

@steemchiller,

We are all suffering through the STEEM bear market. If the community pulls together we can survive this bear market just as we have done in past bear markets.

I greatly appreciate the SteemWorld app. I rely on it throughout my day.

As a small token of my appreciation, I transferred 150 STEEM to you to help with your endeavors.

Steem on,
Mike

I started during the bull market and thought, hey that's easy but I'm pushing through and trying to use these times to develop something which will explode during the next bull run!

In 2016 I joined SteemIt when the price of STEEM was high. I accumulated during the down-turn that took the price of STEEM down to the $0.06 USD area. Having a long-term view worked for me.

Keep a long-term view but also be a wise investor!

Have a great week!
Steem on,
Mike

Thank you so much for using our service! Congratulations! You've earned an ROI of 110.11% with bids of: 0.143$

Received 82.69% upvote from @onlyprofitbot courtesy of @etcmike!

Want to earn more with us? Our APR can reach as high as
17% or more!

More portion of profit will be given to delegators, as the SP pool grows!

Comment below or any post with "@opb !delegate [DelegationAmount]" to find out about current APR, estimated daily earnings in SBD/STEEM

You can now also make bids by commenting "@opb !vote post [BidAmount] [SBD|STEEM]" on any post without the hassle of pasting url to memo!

* Please note you do not have to key in [] for the command to work, APR can be affected by STEEM prices

You got a 49.58% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @etcmike!

Not sure if I would call this a bear market.....

Hey, @donchate.

I'm kind of the same opinion, but I'm wondering about your reasoning. If it's not a bear market, what would you call it?

You got a 43.04% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @etcmike!

Thank you so much for using our service! Congratulations! You've earned an ROI of 110.11% with bids of: 0.144$

Received 80.70% upvote from @onlyprofitbot courtesy of @etcmike!

Want to earn more with us? Our APR can reach as high as
17% or more!

More portion of profit will be given to delegators, as the SP pool grows!

Comment below or any post with "@opb !delegate [DelegationAmount]" to find out about current APR, estimated daily earnings in SBD/STEEM

You can now also make bids by commenting "@opb !vote post [BidAmount] [SBD|STEEM]" on any post without the hassle of pasting url to memo!

* Please note you do not have to key in [] for the command to work, APR can be affected by STEEM prices

"I'm broke, but at the same time I am very fascinated about the new possibilities :)"
I don't know what about you guys (the other readers of this blog post), but it is so sad to see one of the best Steem developers "broke".
I hope that you (@steemchiller) will not shut down the SteemWorld in the future (as long as the Steem Blockchain is working) because of financial reasons.
SteemWorld is one of the best Steem tools in my opinion (after Steemd), and THE best Steem tool by many other people's opinion.
It is also so sad and surprising (in a bad way) that you are not getting enough financial support from the Steem community for the SteemWorld.
I am a minnow, and I gave a 100% upvote (worth about $0.008 at the time of the upvoting) to this blog post after 4 minutes 57 seconds from posting, and I wrote this comment from SteemPeak, and I set you (@steemchiller) for the beneficiaries (90%).
I will keep only 10% from the rewards of this comment, if it will earn anything.

I have a witness slot reserved for you. Hope you will not lose money on the witness server.

great service, steemi inc should send you soem cash

Thank you for your invaluable work.

SteemWorld is essential in navigating Steemit - posts, my comments, payouts, etc.

Mach doch einfach jeden Tag einen Post, ich bin sicher wir voten dich alle 💪

ja!! oder halt 2 mal die Woche aber nutz doch etwas den Support den du hast.

Ich lese ab und an mal in den Kommentaren mit und lese von Leuten die quasi darum betteln mehr von dir voten zu können.

Lieber @steemchiller,
da Du keinen Kopp mehr für die deutsche Übersetzung hast, habe ich das getan und erlaube mir, es hier als Antwort zu posten. Das mit der Pleite kann ich gut nachvollziehen. Wer voll auf den Steem gesetzt hat, ist schon lange angeschmiert. Ich habe einen Server bei Strato laufen und biete dir an, den zu nutzen. Dann hast du die Server-Kosten vom Hals und die Hände etwas freier für die Nahrunssuche. Denk drüber nach!

Hier kommt die Übersetzung deines Artikels für die Steemians aus #deutsch, die DeepL noch nicht kennen:

Update

Da ich (SteemWorld) mit dem bestehenden Preis nicht mehr viel länger überleben kann, muss ich jetzt handeln. Also habe ich eine Steemd-Instanz (mit aktiviertem MIRA) auf meinem dedizierten Rechner gestartet und werde meinen Witness in den nächsten Tagen aktivieren. Ich will kein Autowitness aus einer vorgepackten Box sein, also habe ich mich entschieden, alles selbst zu bauen, was ich brauche.

Ich weiß, dass MIRA (noch) nicht der richtige Weg für einen Zeugen ist, denn die Wiedergabezeiten dauern etwas mehr als 3 Tage (in meinem Fall), aber ich möchte es trotzdem verwenden. Auf jeden Fall möchte ich MIRA in Zukunft für das SteemWorld Backend nutzen, also halte ich es für eine gute Idee, mit ihm zu arbeiten und sein Verhalten bereits jetzt zu studieren. Lernen durch Tun ist für mich immer der beste Weg.

Wenn ich Blöcke verpassen sollte oder Schwierigkeiten beim Betrieb auf dieser (nur leicht ausgelasteten) Maschine habe, werde ich über andere Lösungen nachdenken. Tatsache ist, dass ich mir keinen zusätzlichen Server leisten kann, also muss er funktionieren.

Das Gute daran ist, dass ich jetzt Blöcke und andere Daten, die ich für die SteemWorld-Datenbanken benötige, direkt von localhost empfangen kann und mich nicht mehr auf andere Knoten verlassen muss. In meinen Tests hat es bisher perfekt funktioniert (so schnell!) und ich fange an, dieses Ding namens'MIRA' zu lieben :)

Wie ich vor kurzem gesehen habe, hat Steemit an einer Rewards API/Plugin für steemd gearbeitet und vielleicht kann ich dies in Zukunft nutzen, um die Ladezeiten für die kommenden Belohnungen zu verbessern. In der Lage sein, die kommenden Kurationsbelohnungen mit einem Klick in wenigen Sekunden zu sehen? Spannende Zeiten liegen vor uns!

Vielleicht kann ich sogar meine eigenen Plugins für steemd erstellen, so dass die Frontend-Entwickler da draußen das Rad nicht immer wieder neu erfinden müssen...... Vielleicht kann ich mein geplantes SDS (zumindest teilweise) direkt im Knoten implementieren, so dass wir ein komprimiertes, aber gleichzeitig schnell lesbares und beschreibbares block_log verwenden können.....

Ich bin pleite, aber gleichzeitig bin ich sehr fasziniert von den neuen Möglichkeiten :)

Weitere Neuigkeiten folgen in Kürze.
Steem On!

Neben allem Übel (Hey, wir lassen dich bestimmt nicht verhungern!) freue ich mich, deinem Beitrag viel Positives entnehmen zu können!
Ist ja wohl klar, dass du bei mir nicht auf Witness-Stimmenfang gehen musst, insofern nur alles Gute für dein Vorhaben! Toi, toi, toi, dass das "MIRA-Dingens" auch außerhalb der Testläufe so perfekt und schnell funktioniert!
Liebe Grüße,
Chriddi

Lieber Chiller,

sagst du dann bitte in der Kneipe oder bei mir Bescheid, wenn man dich wählen kann?

Kannst du dich auch selbst wählen?
Ich frage, da du bei mir als Proxy eingetragen bist.

Lieben Gruß, @double-u

Ja, man kann sich auch selbst wählen und die Proxy-Votes würden auch so funktionieren ;)
Ich bin allerdings schon wieder ein Stückchen weiter und gerade dabei meinen SPS-Artikel zu schreiben. Es macht wirklich zunächst mehr Sinn für mich SPS als Einkommensquelle zu verwenden, daher weiß ich noch nicht, ob ich die Witness-Node in nächster Zeit überhaupt starten werde.

You have my vote for witness as soon as you announce its start! I cannot see my journey without your great efforts and development!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00