You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My accounts are on the Hive blacklist

in #steemworld5 years ago

When I first saw the criteria for the list and the number of people on it, I tried to convince those involved to just stick with the Steemit ninja-mined stake only. Unfortunately, I was unsuccessful at convincing those doing the coding to change their minds.

I think Steemworld is a valuable tool for the community and it's unfortunate your account was included, but I at least appreciate the criteria was set and followed without any special favorites or exceptions. The funds are air dropped to the HIVE DAO as part of the code and my hope is the community of token holders who disagree with what was done will create proposals to airdrop back on to the accounts that deserve it.

Freezing accounts in a "decentralized" blockchain is the dumbest thing I have ever seen. They are responsible for what is happening now and they obviously cannot handle the truth.

I respect your opinion on this, though I disagree with it. For v0.22.2, I supported temporarily disabling voting and disabling power down until we could come to a resolution. Disabling liquid transfers was added later and Tim and I both disagreed. He disagreed strongly enough to run v0.22.3 which didn't freeze the liquid tokens (but did prevent voting, power down, I believe). He was voted out of consensus which does seem to indicate the token holders supported v0.22.2.

To me, what's dumber than a temporary freeze to avoid a stated threat is sybil attacking the chain so it's controlled by one person. That's not even a blockchain any more. I don't know why anyone who cares about blockchain technology would ever support that.

Sort:  

I wish my English was better but what you wrote, especially in the last paragraph, is exactly what I wanted to add in my comment to @steemchiller
I really hope he will make use of the possibility of the "airdrop back"...

but I at least appreciate the criteria was set and followed without any special favorites or exceptions.

Binance-hot and Huobi voted for Sun's witnesses at some point. Somehow, we don't see them on that list

As far as I understand, the criteria was about people who were voting at the time of the Hive announcement, but I may be wrong about that. Not airdropping on exchange is a very tricky thing because it impacts customer funds who did not choose to vote for Justin's sock puppets. I know, not your keys, not your coins, but if those are blocked, it screws a lot of people who otherwise may be very supportive of Hive and have no ill will towards it.

I think poloniex was included because they didn't change their vote and they haven't let Steem withdraws work for a very long time so I'm not even sure who has customer funds there now.

Either way, it's a tricky situation.

But not during the snapshot. It was an algorithmic airdrop excluding those voting for sockpuppet witnesses. Those exchanges were no longer voting by the snapshot.

Some of the people on that list removed their votes before the snapshot.

Right after the announcements, trevonjb or whatever his name was, removed his votes. Someone posted it on twitter. The snapshot happened yesterday.

Some of the people
On that list removed their votes
Before the snapshot.

                 - pangoli


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Aha, those doing the code... that bald dickhead Netuoso...

Don't roll the dice if you can't pay the price...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74