You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemWorld ~ Weekly Support ~ #7

in #steemworld6 years ago

I appreciate your work @steemchiller. I've set an auto-upvote for your posts at 100% immediately after posting for some time now. I wish I could help more.

I have a question. For operations that need a higher ranked private key (like Convert SBD, since it's new here), how do you handle them, security-wise? Are they stored anywhere, do they leave the browser?

Sort:  

Thanks for your support!

Are they stored anywhere, do they leave the browser?

No private key will ever leave the browser or be stored permanently. All transactions are being signed locally within the JavaScript of the page. Once you enter a key it will temporarily be held available on the page (in the DOM) but never be stored anywhere else. Only the signed transaction will be sent to the connected node, so no keys are transferred at any time.

I've planned to add SteemConnect or a more secure (own) solution in future. As SteemConnect stores the private keys on the developers servers, I'm still not really convinced that that is the right way to do it. I think stored keys always should be encrypted and in my own solution I would do exactly that in conjunction with a master password.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61372.29
ETH 2888.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62