You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemWorld ~ Weekly Support ~ #24

in #steemworld5 years ago

So you build another steem data service, right? Build on top of SQLite IIRC.

Doesn't it looks redundant for you since we have hive now which has a full scale Postgres under the hood?

Supported.

Sort:  

I've tested Hive and it works, but it doesn't contain all the data I need. Of course, I could modify the code locally, so that all required data is being stored, but that would end like my story with SteemJS.

Weeks after HF20 was out, there were still not all API methods implemented (I don't even know if they now are), so I now have my own 'locally improved' SteemJS version. Therefore I can't use any new version without checking and updating all changes in my local code, which would be more time consuming than solving the whole thing myself by taking a look into the original Steem code.

The experiences I made here regarding to changing existing API's over night, removing existing fields, so that I now need to do 30 requests instead of 1 to achieve the same thing and a few other things told me, it's better to build my own stuff from now on.

Okay, I see.
Didnt know steem codebase in such a bad shape.

Excellent work!

The Steem core itself is being developed in a very professional way and I don't have anything to complain about there. I'm convinced that Steemit does a great job regarding to the blockchain core development. As many companies at some point realize, spending much time on testing changes is one of the most important things. When the 'customers' always are the ones that are testing the outcome, the whole thing might blow up in future. The more developers there are in a team, the more time needs to be spent on testing. That's one reason, why I prefer to work alone on my stuff (clear sight, less external influences).

Many things are 'historically grown', we started to build a base, then many stuff on top of that base, then the roof was finished and in the end we realized that we need to change fundamental walls in the basement, which of course comes with some problems regarding to the already built roof. That's all very complicated and I won't blame any developer for the created chaos.

We are all sitting in the same boat and overall I'm convinced that we are building something brilliant here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69633.73
ETH 3805.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74