Art in the Subways 60th and Lexington Mosaics

in #steemusa6 years ago (edited)

Art in the Subways 60th and Lexington Mosaics

I did a few post a while back of some of the cool art in the subways and I just realized that I had missed editing and sharing the shots of the Mosaic art in the 60th and Lexington Station

60th and Lexington Subway-2.jpg


Sony A6500 16mm F3.5 1/60 ISO 640
Click here to view larger


From what I could find online this station was originally built in 1989 and had no artwork, but as part of the second Ave Subway Renovations the artwork of Jean Shin was installed in the new station areas.

This artwork is called Elevated

60th and Lexington Subway-3.jpg


Sony A6500 24mm F4 1/60 ISO 2000
Click here to view larger



I love the color and vibrancy of this mosaic work

60th and Lexington Subway-4.jpg


Sony A6500 22mm F4 1/60 ISO 1600
Click here to view larger


While looking up about this artwork I read that there is different styles of Mosaics on each level, I only saw this level when I was there so I will have to visit again and catch the other levels.


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.762812 lat -73.967734 long 60th and Lexington NYC d3scr

Sort:  

Sure isn't your father's subway walls. :-)

indeed no Subways where I grew up LOL

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=art-in-the-subways-60th-and-lexington-mosaics


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

These are really amazing. I am always joyful when I see public spaces given over to art. Subways are wonderful places to come upon it, that is for sure.

These have such life and colour and have a very 'of their time' feel a quality of early 80's almost cartoon animation feel. Thanks for sharing these.

I to love finding art like this in public places, NYC is great for that I must say

What a beautiful and bright place ... The bright colors make it a happy place. Magnificent way to make known the art. Thanks for sharing photos of that place.

@milrosas thanks I do love finding art like this in the subways

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Great colourful art. Mosaics don't seem to be as popular as they were a few years back, which is a shame.
When I move house in the next year I am planning to do a few of my own around the place. 😊

There sure seem to be less popular would be so cool to have some in your new place

Very cool. Sure beats gray concrete walls.

@dabeckster Ohh yes I totally agree with you

Can you imagine how long something like that took to piece together?

OHh yeah I wondered the same it must have taken a lot of work to create these pieces without a doubt

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67441.24
ETH 3492.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81